Home » Cards » Shelter

Shelter

Daqadoodles151021wo005401140

Last entry for the Chocolate Baroque Colour Challenge # 15

 

It started out of that same paper as the previous card.Daqadoodles151019ma223527123

It’s the top left part. At first I had stamped the buddha branches on the top (with 2nd and 3rd generation ink stamping) but it was way to busy, I had added the flowers and white pearldrops then allready too. So what do you do then? Add a coat of gesso on it. I made a bit of a texture in it. First I brushed it straight down, then on the top part of the gesso bit I brushed it like a pointed roof. It reminded me of a shelter. I added some paint which should dry up with a blotty effect, but it was paint on spirits base (not sure how it’s called in english) and takes a long time to dry. It was transparent too, too white. That is when I got out my brushed pewter and silver acryllic paint – added a few drops on the top, some water, and kitchen foil. Let it sit and focus on the other cards.

Daqadoodles151021wo000511132

The effect when the foil was removed is great. It’s stoney, and the brushstrokes down give it more depth. And guess what, I even added a ribbon! I felt it needed some layering, some softening.

Daqadoodles151021wo005356139

Daqadoodles151021wo005332137

Oops, messed up the drop of stickles here… was looking for the shiny blingthingies which I never use but had found again and intended to use it for these cards and then when I needed them couldn’t find them…  Not sure if Ill add a sentiment to that card, I don’t think I will.

Daqadoodles151021wo005433141

I love the contrast on these pictures, especially from the Shelter card, looks like a thunderstorm and rain like this. Love how it turned out.

Now I’ve got some cleaning to do and get to bed (way too late!)

8 thoughts on “Shelter

  1. Wow what a beautiful effect! I love the background you’ve created, a really fabulous interpretation of the challenge colours. Thanks so much for joining us at Chocolate Baroque this time
    Claire xx

  2. Debbie you have been busy! I love this entry for the Challenge too. Brilliant idea for that texture and love the use of the Challenge colours. Fabulous x.

  3. Super texture on this one DEbbie, another fab entry, you have been on a creative roll. Thanks for your great support and three great entries into the Chocolate Baroque Challenge, Judith xx

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!