Shelter

Daqadoodles151021wo005401140

Last entry for the Chocolate Baroque Colour Challenge # 15

 

It started out of that same paper as the previous card.Daqadoodles151019ma223527123

It’s the top left part. At first I had stamped the buddha branches on the top (with 2nd and 3rd generation ink stamping) but it was way to busy, I had added the flowers and white pearldrops then allready too. So what do you do then? Add a coat of gesso on it. I made a bit of a texture in it. First I brushed it straight down, then on the top part of the gesso bit I brushed it like a pointed roof. It reminded me of a shelter. I added some paint which should dry up with a blotty effect, but it was paint on spirits base (not sure how it’s called in english) and takes a long time to dry. It was transparent too, too white. That is when I got out my brushed pewter and silver acryllic paint – added a few drops on the top, some water, and kitchen foil. Let it sit and focus on the other cards.

Daqadoodles151021wo000511132

The effect when the foil was removed is great. It’s stoney, and the brushstrokes down give it more depth. And guess what, I even added a ribbon! I felt it needed some layering, some softening.

Daqadoodles151021wo005356139

Daqadoodles151021wo005332137

Oops, messed up the drop of stickles here… was looking for the shiny blingthingies which I never use but had found again and intended to use it for these cards and then when I needed them couldn’t find them…  Not sure if Ill add a sentiment to that card, I don’t think I will.

Daqadoodles151021wo005433141

I love the contrast on these pictures, especially from the Shelter card, looks like a thunderstorm and rain like this. Love how it turned out.

Now I’ve got some cleaning to do and get to bed (way too late!)

First snow

Do you remember, the eerie light, the night the first snow covers the world outside? Like light coming from everywhere, a soft illumination…Daqadoodles151021wo005229134

Ofcourse nothing like my card!

This is my 2nd entry for the Chocolate Baroque Colour Challenge # 15

Here is the piece of paper it came from:

Daqadoodles151019ma223527123

Daqadoodles151021wo000459131

Daqadoodles151021wo000401129

I wanted to use it as it was there, with the distressed edges. But it wasn’t right.

Daqadoodles151021wo005255136

Nicely framed with grey and straight lines is better, more view onto a scene like this.

Daqadoodles151021wo005236135

Also here, I’ve been doubting about a sentiment, or something else. The card makes me feel a bit.. what is the word… melancholic inside, a memory with a touch of sadness. I prefer to make happy cards, not melancholic ones, as I want people to be a bit happier when they receive a card. But maybe it doesn’t have this effect on others, so it’s good like this. Thanks for visiting again! Let’s see if I can make the 3rd post in time as well.

Golden Christmas

Feels like I’m way too early for Christmas. Too make up for that, I’m almost late with posting/adding this card to the Chocolate Baroque Colour Challenge #15.

Been busy here, also with some crafting but no time to take pictures (and no reason – besides no time – to blog about it).

Here is the first finished card (not sure if I can/will finish the others on time).

Daqadoodles151021wo000343129

The ingredients: soft ancient silver acryllic paint, pewter acryllic paint, grey versafine, queens gold embossing powder and versamark.

Drop some acryllic paint on a craftsheet, add some water and put the paper on top, this time don’t move it around too much as you want some white left. I tried to put the darker grey on the bottom of the card and the lighter on the top. As you can see I somewhere failed, as it’s the other way around now 😛

Daqadoodles151021wo000226127

Take a blank piece of paper, stamp with versamark and emboss the angel with gold. Add some slight grey to her dress, hair and a touch of her wings so the white stands out more as white.  Mount the background and fold the card off center.Daqadoodles151021wo000158125

Use a stamping ruler for the next part. Ink up with versafine grey, stamp inside the card. The idea was that the gold would fade inside the card, leaving grey flakes, so the grey would continue inside.Daqadoodles151021wo000147124

Tape a piece of paper against the inside of the card so the ink won’t transfer to the other side of the inside (get it?). Now close the card, ink up again (with grey versafine) and stamp on the same spot. Add embossing powder on the stamped image, also opening the card and let it go inside a bit. Depending on how dry the ink on the inside is more or less of the powder sticks. Mine was quite sticky still so I wiped some powder away.

Then fire up the heating tool and emboss the flakes.Daqadoodles151021wo000211126

No time to flatten the card yet, has to go under the press a bit.

Daqadoodles151021wo000226127

I’m not sure if I’ll add a sentiment, I do feel it still lacks something but there’s enough business on it allready. I guess I better leave it as it is, maybe add a sentiment inside. Thanks for visiting!