Home » Cards » Bohemian steampunk romantic Elveness and strong women

Bohemian steampunk romantic Elveness and strong women

That would kind of describe my latest favourite stamps. Not all together at once, but as example the willow range from Santoro has this bohemian, melancholic feel to it. The Sweet pea stamps are more romantic, with some images portraing fierce, strong women. Ranging from a steampunk style to fantasy – elves. Not the little elfs (pixies etc) but the tall elves. At least, I picture them tall. Maybe without the wings they’d be the ancient elves. Sweet Pea stamps unfortunately has closed it’s doors. What I liked about it is that there were many different artists – not originally from the stamping world – who made some artworks or transformed some artworks into stamps. Those are always tricky: will the strong outline of a stamp ruin  the subtle lines that make the artwork a work of art? Most comes down to the colouring of the stamp. Not my most experienced area.  Still, I love their stamps so when I found out a week ago they had closed in November I scourged teh internetz for their stamps that where still on my wishlist. I ordered some in The Netherlands from Creamiep, I’ve got some underway from the UK from That’scrafty. (That was my budget for 3 months crafting). I’ve been using Chocolate Baroque stamps intensively for the last 2-3 years, same with Designs by Ryn since I discovered those brands. I still love their stamps but it’s inspiring to try out different styles or mix with other brands more. Fortunately, the stencils of Designs by Ryn and some of her stamps go well with any type of stamp so they are still often used in the background.

As Sweet Pea Stamps vary so much in style due to all the different artists there I probably also should mention the artist when I show my cards, which I haven’t done untill now. I’ll edit all posts (also on fb) to include the artists.

Now onto the pictures part.

Daqadoodles151125wo1554n6675

Eternity from Molly Harrison from Sweet Pea Stamp (closed since nov 2015)

Maidenhair Fern Stencil by Designs by Ryn and Aurora from the Willow series of Santoro.

Maidenhair Fern Stencil by Designs by Ryn and Aurora from the Willow series of Santoro.

Sweet Pea Stamp Hanging Fairy Lights from Meredith Dillman. Backround stamps are from Chocolate Baroque.

Hanging Fairy Lights from Meredith Dillman, via Sweet Pea Stamp (closed since November 2015) . Backround stamps are from Chocolate Baroque.

Sweet Pea Stamps Twilight Shimmer from Rachel Anderson. Background is cell theory stencil from TCW (could be the 12x12 version)

Twilight Shimmer from Rachel Anderson via Sweet Pea Stamps (closed since November 2015). Background is (part of) 12×12 cell theory stencil from TCW

As soon as I saw the announcement for the Eternity stamp from Molly Harrison I had to have it. It’s the flowing hair. It reminds me of a children’s show I saw as a child, Candy Candy, one of the first shows in The Netherlands in Manga style. The overly romantic looks, the wavy hair, the pain of sweet memories (she misses a guy she once met on top of a hill). You can see that many stamps I own have this wavy hair, it gives some more drama to the image.

For the Ducht people, here is the first episode of Candy Candy in Dutch:

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

