Home » Cards » Crafting kids

Crafting kids

No, I don’t mean making kids, I think you all know how that goes. No, this is about my kids crafting. As a passionate crafter I ofcourse craft often with my kids. Usually that meant covering a table with a plastic cover, get the paint out, some sheets of paper and brushes. While they start I go prepare a bucket of soapy water to rinse the hands and worst things at the table. It usually ends in me being stressed – as the kids put their hands in the paint in the end, and while I am busy with one the other is starting to get down from the chair (with painty clothes etc) – and me telling them to stop. Meanwhile the 3rd has grabbed the cloth and is “helping” me wipe the table – meaning also wiping through the paint and actually making more of a mess. I wonder why I thought it was a good idea to go painting with them.

Then I think, the more I do this, the easier it gets as the kids will learn what to do, how to clean the stuff and what not to do.

When we go paper crafting – that means, me tracing a birdhouse, cutting it out, (twice), and giving it to the 4 and almost 3yr old to decorate. Last time the 4yr old crumpled it as he was angry because I didn’t do something the way he wanted me to do it, and the 3 yr old scribbled the paper in (less than) 1 minute and then was done. Sigh. Too young still for that crafting.

The oldest loves playing mailman. He gets items, or snippets of paper, and starts delivering them. (Yup, everywhere in the house. Especially annoying when he has chosen items that should stay together, like cards from a memory game…) Sometimes he just gets some paper, and starts cutting snippets of them.

From since he was younger he was allowed to help me with the cuttlebug – even the youngest now (barely 1) wants to participate and this is how he can help. They turn the handle. (Ofcourse I help them). Freya occasionally needs help, Tobias has learned now to do it on his own! He now even understands how he needs to build the stack: White plate, thin plate with the sticker, folder with paper (I’m not sure yet if he really understands about putting the folded side in first, but so far he did this almost every time), and another thin plate with sticker. He also knows, that with the white folders, he needs only the white plate and the thick plate without sticker. (The M-bossability folders are thicker and require only and A and C plate).

I showed him the technique of rubbing a crayon over the embossed parts, and then adding ink. He is allowed to use the waterbased inks. He knows now to replace the lids when he’s done (most of the time) and that he needs to use the correct sponge. Ofcourse I limit his colour choice. I’ve got 4 mini’s which I put down for him, if he wants other colours I ofcourse search the correct sponge with it. And ofcourse I remain present when he is crafting. 239 Techniques you can do with a Cuttlebug / embossing folder – Mel Stampz – technique 11

He also discovered my paper pens and can use them quite ok. Ofcourse I have to get them away at some point as he starts squirting it too much.  With die cuts they still need some assistance, but that is going well too.

He loved making cards the other day, and has done so several times since. He wanted to mail them to people, so he send out several cards and was very proud when people told him they liked his cards.

So here are the pictures of him and his sister making them (youngest was playing very sweet on the floor):

2 thoughts on “Crafting kids

  1. Lovely post Debbie I really enjoyed reading about your crafty adventures with the children. I had to smile when I read about the postman!! I can imagine you finding bits and pieces everywhere. I had a crafting day with my friends little boy and we did some stamping. When his Mum came to collect him he had to show her how you use the stamps. The stamp was all inky and dirty and he used it with a versamark ink pad. I hadn’t the heart to say anything although I was cringing inside!!!
    Hugs Flo xx

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

