Home » Cards » A fairytale baby

A fairytale baby

This card I made for a collegue whose second son was born on Christmas day. I used to work with him a lot, but then I moved and now I am attached to another office of the company and also I do not work at the office anymore but am working at a clients office. I only heard last month that his son was born.

Daqadoodles150225wo235455006 There was less good news with that news too: the little boy was in the hospital with an unknown infection.
The top stamp I had seen at VivaLasVegaStamps a while ago allready, and had revisited the site and revisited. This stamp still stayed on my wishlist. It reminds me of the old fairytale books I used to read, this style of drawing. Recently they had a big sale, and having some money to spare again I finally placed an order, inclusing this stamp.  (Fairy Princess – 18095). This was before I knew about the day of birth of this boy.

Daqadoodles150225wo235626009

So when I heard the news, I went through my stash of new stamps (I usually start there) and saw this one. This one was perfect. The name means “(the)blessed”. And born on Christmas day? – This stamp was perfect. A fairy, sending blessings out over his name, winter in her hands. I stamped her in blue, as she is an ethereal being and not present in this world. She is only visible for those who look. For babies, who are still partly connected to the spirit world. Also the sun, symbol for light or enlightment, fit together with the crane perfectly. The crane stands for luck – it is said a crane brings good luck. Some light in dark times: the birht of the boy. The light also is hope, and luck from the crane, for a good recovery. Stars ofcourse also match his birth day.

Daqadoodles150225wo235613008

The first letter is a stamp from a steampunk VLVS alphabet set, and the others are die cut from a Sizzix alphabet die (inked with stazon moonlight blue). The crane is from Designs by Ryn, and the sun from Stampinback. The text is from Stampendous (I think) – it’s also the only black on the card, the main colours are blue and yellow (and gold, if you don’t count that as a shade of yellow). The star stencil from The Crafters Workshop. The banner from Sizzix/Tim Holtz. The crackle stamp is from Indigo Blue. Hmm that is stamped with onyx black I think – I meant to use the grey versafine but had mistakenly taken the onyx black.  The stars where first bright yellow, with acryllic paint. Too yellow to my liking, too harsh. So I put some distress ink antiqued bronze over it, just very lightly, to tone down the yellow and make it shimmer a bit at the same time.

Daqadoodles150225wo235638010

The sun is embossed on parchment paper, and then cut out. I made several, but one was enough. I had also embossed and cut out several more birds (on plain cardstock): 2 for the parents, and 1 for his older brother who has pneumonia. (Hopefully that is over by now). The card would be too busy if I added all 4, and it was about a birthcard for the youngest. I had allready sent a different card with well wishes for their health.

It’s quite a large card, fits just in a standard wide envelop (for A4 paper folded in 3). I do like the card a lot, with it’s symbolism and meaning. Hopefully my collegue recognizes the meaning, and hopefully he and his wife enjoy the card.

Daqadoodles150225wo235557007

Adding this card to Designs by Ryn customer Creation Challenge – March

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

