Home » Cards » Potential in all

Potential in all

Another card made with a preset colourcombination:

Daqadoodles027The colourscheme is from Chocolate Baroque challenge # 7.

1f11a-cbc_06

I stamped the queen, then the pawns several times and masked all off, then coloured the card using various shades of brown and green.  I then took a CB background stamp from the nature fragments set, misted it with water and put it on the card, then dabbed a dry cloth to the card. The stamp absorbed the water nicely, leaving a bit of a chessboard pattern behind.Daqadoodles150208zo130419006The chesspieces are coloured with a waterbrush and distress ink scattered straw. The text is embossed. I should look for another red embossing powder, I am always a bit disappointed by this one, it looks so bright red when unmelted, but is much darker melted. I had really wanted the word Queen to pop.  To compensate, I put a red background against it, stamped a CB stamp from the steampunk christmas I think (the corner stamp) with fired brick or barn door, went over it with a waterbrush and after that went over it a bit with waterbrush and scattered straw distess ink.

Daqadoodles150208zo220038025

Back to the steampunk birds / onto the extra card in this post.Daqadoodles028

Daqadoodles150208zo163909020The left bird was used before by me beginning of january or in december, on this card:Daqadoodles141122za16113002

I had planned it to be an entry into the CB challenge of that month, challenge 5. If you look at those colours, it doens’t really match.

ae68f-cbc_04

It’s because I got carried away while making the card,deciding to put in an accent and make the wing yellow. I didn’t think of the challenge colours at that point, I just made the wing yellow. And then I thought: uhhh that’s not in the challenge colours! So this didn’t get into the challenge entry.

Daqadoodles141122za16141205

I added more accents in the flower stamp, as I didn’t have to stick to a colour scheme anymore.  Daqadoodles141122za16144807

Looks good this way, doesn’t it?  I just love the steampunk birds I guess!

5 thoughts on “Potential in all

  1. Fabulous card Debbie. Great design. Thank you for playing along with the Chocolate Baroque Color Challenge. Apologies for late visit.
    Flo x
    P.S. Deb, I am having trouble leaving comments on your previous entries. Will try again later.

    • Thanks for your visits – even if they’re late. “Real life” is much more important then the online version, that should always come first. I don’t know if being “late” is linked to that, but if you’re short on time, then it is😉. Don’t worry about commenting on every post! A like once in a few posts so I know you have visited/seen them is good enough for me too😉
      Do you get any error messages when leaving comments on the other posts?

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

