Home » Cards » Beauty in the city

Beauty in the city

Daqadoodles150208zo163909020Daqadoodles026

As mentioned in the previous post, the colours led me to choose the bricks stamp. I wetted the paper a bit and spread the ink around so the bricks would have a bit of colour. I used memento morocco.  I filled the red bricks with olive green and a touch of forest moss (distress ink). It remined me of an old wall somewhere in the back of a garden. Somewhere quiet in a busy city, a place forgotten, like a secret garden.

Daqadoodles150206vr215058004

I stamped the flowers from the buddha stamp set, knowing I would probably not be able to colour them very well against that background. I stamped to know where I should apply some gesso. So I did apply some gesso, stamped the flowers again in roughly the same spot. I also stamped with ganache stazon (brown) the hanging branch, it looks good, should have stamped more then one. But maybe it looks good because it’s just one and quite subtle.

Daqadoodles150208zo130526010

I coloured the flowers with acryllic paint, mixing yellow and fired brick red together a bit, and covered most of the gesso with a thin coat of walnut stain, trying to give it an uneven look as to give it some old, blurred feeling. But what to do with it then? It needed a nice focus. And maybe a text. But what?

Daqadoodles150208zo163909020

 

Doesn’t this bird look perfect here, with his brown metallic feathers, copper screws and antique gold beak and paws?

Oh, here’s prooft the scan doesn’t always look better then the picture – I had to tinked with brighness, saturation and contrast a bit as the bird was either totally brown in one hue, or the red was just hurting your eyes (even more) as it had become neonred. (It’s supposed to be a distress marker “barn door”)Daqadoodles001

Anyway, all this for the Chocolate Baroque colour challenge #7.

1f11a-cbc_06

The same bird, same colour scheme, very different card. Here is how it started.

Daqadoodles150208zo130542011

I stamped the bird, placed a mask on it, placed a stencil from TCW on it and used various shades of brown to colour the cage. I thought it was a good looking square, and thought: birds, cages, lock, key, free… something about freeing yourself.  I don’t like birdcages, as I don’t like birds (or other animals) in cages.

We have an old voilière (birdhouse) behind our house, from the previous owner. I don’t like the idea of a bird, that is mean to soar through the sky, being grounded in a cage, even a big one. Relatives have a pet bird, and they let it fly inside the house, but it’s not the same. I get sad thinking about it. How can a house, a large cage, replace soaring through clouds, feeling wind, sunrays, raindrops on your wings? Feeling the thermic (thermiek) of the wind, rise, dive, fload through the sky… how can people enjoy animals in cage, how can they just ignore the fact that they locked up a free spirit?

The same way, but to a lesser extend, I don’t quite like rabbits or hamsters in cages. I don’t like zoo’s, although I go there with my kids ofcourse. I can get sad because of seeing animals in a zoo. Sure, a zoo helps maintain some species with breeding programs, but still: apes in a small area, lions on a rock, tigers in a pit. Imagine having housearrest for the rest of your life. Your house, your garden, nothing more.

Imagine being a tiger or a wolf, running loooong stretches of periodes, migrating, hunting, running for miles without turning, discovering things. Feel the wind in your eyes when running at full speed. Now think of the cages the animals are kept in: can they run in there? How bored must they be. Can they think? No idea, but I bet they feel something is wrong – animals aren’t made for captivity.

Don’t think I’m a animal rights fanatic – I still think people are more important then animals, and killing animals sometimes is neccesary, but that has nothing to do with keeping animals in cages for enjoyment.

Where draw the line? Why do I approve of dogs and cats, chicken, as pets? Probably because they are bred so far that they do enjoy their lives like this, dogs and cats at least. I want cats to be able to live outside, but our last cat, Charlie, was terrified of the outdoors. Got chased by neighbourhood cats too often. When we moved to an appartment and only had a balcony: that was heaven for him. No other cats, but baking in the hot sun all day!

Hmm I was talking about cards. A card with a bird in a cage, and how I wanted it to be free, to put a lock on the cage and give the bird the key / put an opened lock on the cage. Free Willy. But for now, the bird is behind the fence (Let’s call it a fence now, as now it can just fly up and leave :P). How to draw white lines of the fence over hte bird? Before colouring it I drew lines with the picked fence distress marker, then added some decopuage glue on it with a brush. Only then did I colour the bird.

Daqadoodles150208zo215940022

I stamped some keys in light green, like green leaves, green freedom around the bird. I stamped another Chocolate Baroque stamp in the light green but didn’t like the resulting look, the green was a little detail but too bright.

The text. Something about freedom, about having the key to freedom, to hapiness, within reach. Instead I chose this one, from Quietfire Designs. Stamped and embossed with black embossinpowder, highilighted subtly with picket fence distress marker.

I took a strip of paper, stamped an Art Journey plain Christmas tree (or rather, pinetree), took forest moss ink and put that on white spots and die cut the Marianne Design leaves and framed the bird.

The white lines were a bit too white to my liking, so out came the waterbrush again. All I had to do is wipe it over the brown diamonds to get the lighter shade. The background is made with white paper, fired brick distress paint, walnut stain distress paint through the coral pland TCW stencil and some yellow acryllic paint.

Daqadoodles026One stamp, two very different birds.

3 thoughts on “Beauty in the city

  1. Great cards Debbie, so I see how your third background turned out now! The flowers over the gesso have worked out really well, and look great over the ‘wall’. Loved reading your explanation of your final card. Thanks for another entry into the Chocolate Baroque challenge, Judith xx

  2. Hello again, two more beautiful designs, I love the use of the Steampunk birds for this challenge. Thanks again for joining in the fun, Shirleyxx

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

