Home » Cards » Live, Laugh and Love

Live, Laugh and Love

And craft up another card for Designs by Ryn february challenge:

Daqadoodles015

It’s a card with quite some layers and techniques, has been a while since I did that. I started with inking the background and then stamp and emboss the gentleman (Tim Holtz stamp) with clear embossing powder. I stamped and embossed patio stone from Designs by Ryn.

I put down some stnecils (Might have used a star stencil too, but the clocks from Tim Holtz are quite visible) and inked again. I looked through my stash of cutouts and found a long strip, (tattered banners) die cut, inked up allready. Torn in two it’s perfect for two words, and the 3rd word in the bottom.

The man is looking down, towards his watch? or his heart?

The harts and wings (ok they’re leaves from a ranger thinlits strip diecut) are from my stash as well.

Daqadoodles150121wo121952013

This is where we are now.

Next I added the backing paper – torn pages of an old book, glued it on cardstock, my kids helped me with that by putting the glue on the cardstock. Isn’t the grungy style great for that? Just put the (decoupage) glue around a bit, leave some spots open maybe, and it will act as a resist too.

After this I used modelling paste through 3 different stencils (the dots from Tim Holtz, the roman script from TCW and the harlequin figure from Prima/Finnabair).

Daqadoodles150128wo204229009

Daqadoodles150128wo204211008

The splitpens were from my stash as well, I had used them previously and put some stazon black on them to make them a little bit darker/duller.

Daqadoodles150128wo204258010One more indoor picture to end this post with.

I was – as always – fun to make this card, I hadn’t used modelling paste in a while as it requires more cleaning in between and more drying. Hmm the colours look to dark on this last picture. grmbl indoor photography… The scan isn’t right either, the outdoor picture (of the unfinished card) looks best, but it’s unfinished… Oh well, maybe your monitor balances the colours out right again😉.

Daqadoodles015

2 thoughts on “Live, Laugh and Love

    • Thanks! I am currently trying some more layered backgrounds a bit more again. Busy as usual, a bit of flue and some celebrations on the way (Carnaval), choosing a school for my oldest son.. life flies by so fast, I wouldn’t mind it slowing down a bit.

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

