Home » Cards » C(hristm)AS-ed

C(hristm)AS-ed

My last entry for the 5th Chocolate Baroque Challenge entry.

It’s Christmas-ed and CAS-ed from Shirley. Minimized the challenge image a bit more, as that is made with much more precision than my card. My card is eh, bohemian artsy style. (Or: I should hurry a bit more with making batches of cards, as it’s time to start send cards…)

Anyway, here is my card:

Daqadoodles141214zo23203404

I do have ribbons. I only never use them, I’m not much of a ribbons person. But for this card, with such a background, it’s perfect with a label! The background was first made with the stitches stencil and dylusions ink spray. I had no idea what to do with it next (it’s just fun to put down stencils and spray / ink / dab paint etc. I often don’t think ahead :P). So I thought, let’s try stamping over it. The image got a bit lost at first. I coloured the flakes with distress ink on my acryllic block and a waterbrush, trying to fade the colour a bit more further away from the big snowflake. Used colours are probably milled lavender, maybe a tiny bit of worn lipstick, dusty concord, and seedless preserves.Daqadoodles141214zo23204505

The larger snowflake is also decorated with perlen pens and silver stickles, and outlined with white gelpen. Also coloured other little white areas with the gell pen in other snowflakes.Daqadoodles141214zo23205306

Barely visible on this picture is the label. This is a technique I used before and liked the result. Emboss a piece of cardstock (I used a snowflake embossing folder) and rub over the paper with a crayon while it is in the embossing folder so you don’t de-emboss it. (I used a white crayon). Take your die-cut stack (I have a cuttleblug), without the die and place your paper. Maybe add another paper. Put through your machine again so the paper is flat. An added touch to it is, (imo) the texture you get from the well-used B-plate. It’s not very visible on this tag though.

I should finally make a post about the cards I made a while ago, a series of 5 cards (made with design paper – something else I have but find hard to use!).

Here is a sneak preview: (maybe it will help to get it posted…)

Daqadoodles140901ma224009

Next, die-cut it and ink it up (Milled lavender and maybe a touch of tattered rose, and gothic purple stazon to the edges). Stamp the sentiment.

And the last series together:Daqadoodles141214zo23273719 Daqadoodles141214zo23261816

Now, should I continue making christmas card or finish the skirt for my son (yes, that’s right, skirt for my son… he’s 3 1/2 and wants a skirt to dance in. He likes the skirts of girls, the way they swirl. I don’t blame him, because it IS fun to have a skirt that swirls when you turn. So why stick to what people are used to, and why not open up and let boys wear skirts too? In the old days a skirt was common for men, and trousers not for women. It was strange to see women with trousers first, but we are used to it now. Emancipation. But is it emancipation if it is still seen as weird if a man/boy wears girlsclothes like a skirt or dress? In the arabic world a dress is common for men. And what about the very manly Scottish kilts?

So I’m making him a skirt of blue, black, denim and robot fabric. I am not much for planning (I think I allready said that) and have never really sewn, so it might not be all that straight or neat, but I’m sure he’ll love it and I’ll love seeing him dance in it😉. Ofcourse I’ll post pictures of it when it’s done!

9 thoughts on “C(hristm)AS-ed

  1. Hi Debbie, these are also very lovely, you are on a roll with these colors! It’s nice to see all of your creations and read your stories! Thanks for sharing, xMiranda

    • Thanks🙂 It took a while (3 weeks or so) to get the hang of it, but now I think I got it. So I guess that means it’s time for a new challenge, right?😉
      Glad you like the stories.

  2. Hi Debbie, another beautiful design using the challenge colours. I really like your backgrounds. The big bold snowflakes are one of my favorite CB stamps (I have many favs though). Thanks for another entry into Chocolate Baroque’s Colour challenge, Shirleyxx

    • Thanks🙂 I had to get used to the big bold stamps a bit first. I like them a lot now, only the cards are quite big then, which make it easier to have to pay higher shipping costs. I don’t mind to do that occasionally, but not when sending out lots of Christmas cards at once.

  3. Beautiful again – I love your alternative Christmas colours, they’re so pretty, and the cards are really elegant. And if your son wants a skirt – good for him! Kilts are marvellous…
    Alison xx

    • I’m afraid the skirt I made is more of a twirling skirt, it’s a bit more stiff then I thought. I could have known, adding an extra layer of thin denim (from old trousers)…

  4. Super card Debbie. Thank you for playing along with the Chocolate Baroque Color Challenge. Look forward to seeing the photos of your little boy dancing.
    Florence x

  5. Pingback: Mega Christmas 2014 post | DaqaDoodles

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

