Home » Cards » Christmas again

Christmas again

What else, still so many card to make and so little time  – being ill for half a week, the second half an ill child, resulting in being behind on laundry/household which means another week lost to catch up (and rest) – not much time for crafting! But I managed to squeeze some time in for the Chocolate Baroque Colour challenge (which I ofcourse make with a Christmas theme).

Here is my first entry:

Daqadoodles141211do14243102

I’m not sure about the center image – I think it came in a grabbag I ordered at Chocolate Baroque. The side greens is from the Steampunk Christmas set and the – what do you call it – strings with dots? is from the Wisteria Lane set.

Daqadoodles141211do14244003

The leaves were stamped with dusty concord, and then partially embossed with verdigris embossing powder.

Daqadoodles141211do14244804

I struggled with the colourcombination and the Christmas theme. (That last bit was ofcourse my own doing). I kind of like the cards, but it still doesn’t have that thing that make them wow. Too busy I suppose, that’s usually the case with my cards😉.

Here are the other two, made on premade backgrounds.

I only noticed now that I didn’t stamp very well on the first card – that stamp isn’t mounted yet so I put the stamp down and lay the card on top and rub over it to transfer the ink, I probably didn’t rub in that corner. The green is too much present in this one, although the idea is ok.Daqadoodles141212vr17113007

Next is a bit similar to cards I made earlier and not entirely as I envisioned it either. Daqadoodles141212vr17134108The “stars” at the top, stamped with perfect pearls medium and then dusted with perfect pearls powder are too light, for instance. The word Noel was stamped with that medium too but dusted with plum perfect pearls, but I had expected the colour to be more purple. The tree is stamped with Gothic Purple Stazon. IT was stamped onto a background I made last year with a glimmerscreen (angelwing). I matted the card onto pink cardstock on which I had stamped a gothic fragment from the Steampunk Butterfly set – after inking I spritzed water on the stamp.

Daqadoodles141212vr17155101

Just a few days left before the challenge closes – I’ve never been so late since participating (or since the start of the CB Colour Challenge). I still have a few other cards with this colour combination but they’re not ready yet. Will I finish, photograph and blog about them in time?

13 thoughts on “Christmas again

  1. Hi Debbie, Hope you and the little one are feeling better. These definitely DO have the Wow factor. When you are not feeling very well or are really busy things seem to look different. I bet if you put these to one side and looked at them again you would see what we see. Fabulous effects, so unique and creative. Love the arty feel about them. They are simply gorgeous. Thank you so much for sparing the time to play along with the Chocolate Baroque Color Challenge.
    Take care, Flo x

    • We are feeling better, thanks! Or at least I am (despite the always present lack of sleep). Not entirely sure about the youngest, he’s still got a cold and I suspect he’s having “growing pains”- tooth aches or getting more used to the fruit he’s been getting (and not being interested in) besides the milk. Also a changing sleeping pattern for him. (And 2 weeks ago he started rolling over, and now he rolls over to his belly right away when we lay him down, and then complain a few minutes later. But he rolls over again when we turn him back… he wants to sit and look around now… so interested in the world!

  2. Beautiful collection of cards with a wonderful combination of images and great use of the challenge colours. The colours are great for Christmas as well ! Thanks for joining us at Chocolate Baroque’s challenge, Shirleyxx

    • You probably won’t read this reply, but I CAS-ed your card as my last entry! Not entirely on purpose, didn’t know what to do with the background and then saw your card and added a label an ribbon too! It just looks great that way🙂

  3. Hi Debbie, super cards, I particularly love the two with the window fragment as your background, they are lovely, The tomne on tone effect is great. Great use of unusual stamps for Christmas cards, the Wisteria Lane stamp for example, good thinking outside the box there.
    I hope you and the little one are both feeling much better now. Thanks for entering the Chocolate Baroque challenge, Judith xx

    • Thanks! The gothic arches are a great elegant stencil. There are a few more christmas cards which have a similar effect, still to be posted. It’s the rays that give it great focus🙂.
      I was suprised to see how well the Wisteria Lane set worked, the card would look equally good the other way around with that stamp as hanging garlands.

  4. Really nice cards, agree with Flo, look at them when you are feeling better😉 (which I hope by now you are already).
    You keep surprising me with your Christmas cards, love the way they don’t look like traditional christmas cards, xx

    • Thanks🙂 It gets easier to make them non traditional once you have let go of those colours and force yourself to make christmas cards in challenge colours. It’s not about the colour, it’s about the thought behind it!

  5. Knap hoe je dan toch weer tijd en ruimte weet te creëren Debbie! En heerlijk om je diverse creaties te zien met de kleurenchallenges! Inderdaad zo heerlijk niet traditioneel! warme groet, Miranda

    • Ach, had 1 1/2 week echt niks creatiefs gedaan, was weer wat aan het gamen (Minecraft) tot op een avond ik even een stempeltje zette en toen toch weer aan de slag ging. Ik heb het gewoon nodig, het is mijn “unwinding” aan het eind van de dag. Dan blijft de was nog maar een dagje liggen😉.

  6. Oh dear – I do hope you and the child are both feeling better now! I think you’ve done lovely work on the cards here. I especially love the one with the tree on the panel and the doily behind – absolutely gorgeous design.
    Alison xx

    • We do, today my youngest was a bit more calm again, less restless. I like the design too, if only that Plum colour of Noel wasn’t so plum-coloured ubt more in line with the other colours then I’d like it more!

  7. Pingback: Mega Christmas 2014 post | DaqaDoodles

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

