Home » Cards » Home sweet home

Home sweet home

Playing with bister, it gives nice backgrounds but then what to do with it? Well, why not stamp over it and use the bister as colouring of the image.. And so I did. I stamped a fairy castle over it, the red representing the magic that flows from the building, or the pixie dust. It’s actually an underwater castle (Chocolate Baroque), so it could also be a mermaid hideout. Tiny mermaids then, as the castle is small.

Daqadoodles141108za143951

After that I added more colour around the image, the green is added distress ink (ink on an acryllic block + waterbrush).

Daqadoodles141108za144012

I then created the frame, it was on bright green cardstock. I stamped over the frame with several tree stamps / leaf stamps from Chocolate Baroque. I say frame because it is a frame but placed behind the center image. I cut out the inner part of the backing paper to save weight – 20g is reached quite fast.

I placed a stencil, a Crafter’s workshop one that has to do with underwater (forgot the name), and applied blue distress ink through the stencil. Next, I applied molding paste (moulding paste? I know one is unhealthy fungus and the other means shaping, but which one is which.. hmmm…). The paste absorbed some of the colour of the ink beneath it and got a nice blue colour. I cleaned the stencil and replaced it and added a bit of perfect pearls blue powder on it. (Gah me and names).

Daqadoodles141108za144026Last I glued the main image on the frame and added the glossy accents in a non straight and non-clean line all around the image/frame. It’s quite hard to try to make the line wiggle and look like applied with a shaking hand when you intend to do so.

Daqadoodles05

It does have an underwater feel to it, doesn’t it? So my initial idea of a fairy home – well, it’s a waterfairy home now!

This is my entry for Melissa’s Vandicrafts Artistrsy Challenge #17 – Home Sweet Home.

 

5 thoughts on “Home sweet home

  1. How lovely… This really does have a magical feel to it – a wonderful water fairy home. Sorry I’ve missed so much – real life got in the way, but I’m looking forward to getting back to visiting in Craftyblogland!
    Alison xx

  2. Hi Debbie! Wow this is so pretty! I love all the different techniques you used. Water-fairy castle is awesome! I just started to get into molding paste, still new and shinny to me, love how you used it. Thank you for sharing on this weeks Artistry Challenge! Be sure to come back Saturday-Monday to vote for your favorite two crafts.🙂
    Melissa – Vandicrafts

  3. Great job! I liked a lot the texture paste effect, it really gives the underwater look.
    Brave you for using the brush technique, last time I attempted it I had to restart the all thing…

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

