Home » Algemeen / other » My heart belongs to you

My heart belongs to you

The card I made for my partner, who had his birthday 13 days after our son was born. I loved making it, and like the card whic is a bit of a mixed media metal foil canvas card. I started making it the evening before his birthday, and finished in the afternoon of his birthday – he was working.

Daqadoodles140716wo162931

Let me show you the mess on my desk. Not unusual when I’m crafting, although lately it’s been less of a mess – less time, so using less different techniques. You can see the main part of the card is allready finished in this picture, and I’m working on a frame or background now.

Daqadoodles140715di232145

I used some leftovers for this project, and also made some new embellishments.

Daqadoodles140715di232214The cogs, green/copper swirls were leftovers. Not sure if the heart and hinge were. The flower and keyhole are new. I used two embossing folders, first a metal plate one, polished lightly after embossing. Then a tools embossing folder, and polished after embossing too.

Daqadoodles140716wo011056

Making very shiny and glossy pieces – cut out the heart and emboss (or the other way around), ink up, then spray with perfect pearls mist copper, and add glossy accents.

The border with the hinges I thought of a bookcover or door, so had to make a door/cover frame ofcourse.

Daqadoodles140715di232210b

Lovely intense colours.

Daqadoodles140715di235632

I replaced the stencil, dabbed embossing ink on it, and heat embossed it with copper embossing powder.Daqadoodles140715di235647

The idea was to have more blue shown through, but I had stamped the embossing ink too much. Loved how it turned out anyway!

I especially loved the left part, so I tore it off and cut it in two pieces, and glued those further apart on a bigger piece of cardstock. I added some more ink to the edge. The main part later on hides the cut.

Daqadoodles140716wo011109

Also quite new for me is playing with aluminium foil and alcohol inks (and add to that, embossing).  Ofcourse that wasn’t flawles, I found the aluminium foil still very shiny, it tore up a bit so you saw the card underneath, and I’m not good at using alcohol inks (yet). I bet having holes in the foil and using that foil adds an extra difficulty level to it😉.

Finished, hanging on a fence outside

Daqadoodles140716wo162845

 

And in the grass, where you can see how it shines.

Daqadoodles140716wo16295014

 

 

2 thoughts on “My heart belongs to you

  1. I TOTALLY understand the mess. I can’t even work in my craft room right now and the kitchen table is covered with almost everything I need for three different projects. Luckily, we never eat at the table.

    • We want to expand the house, including a craftroom for me. Big chance I end up in your situation, but I better not tell my partner or he doesn’t want to build it! Now I Have to clean it up after crafting, so it’s more or less organized.

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

