Home » Cards » Desert Storm

Desert Storm

Mystical sandstorm orient – here is my card:

tn_1200_gcs034_jpgJust kidding. Ofcourse.  I’d NEVER post just a picture of a pretty background only. See a few posts back, or a post to  come, can’t remember if I posted it allready. But I know I’ll never do that.

No, I will post tons of pictures of the same paper, as usual… Maybe I should warn you when my post isn’t picture heavy. I guess this one falls into that category, only 4 images!

Daqadoodles141005zo173115

A palace in the evening sun.

Just a short rant/nag to get it off my chest, maybe it will hurt less then😉. I’m a bit under the weather. Work has really started this week, with me having to leave the house at 07:30 two days and two days 06:30, and I set myself the goal of going to work by bicycle as I don’t sport, and I need to get moving a bit more. It’s 10km for a one way trip – about 35 minutes. I haven’t been this physycally active for a long time, so I have to get used to that. And to work, and lack of sleep. I’m losing masses amounts of hair. It’s about 3 months after the delivery of my son. During pregnancy your hair doesn’t fall out as normal – it falls out (in masses) in 2 – 4 months after the delivery, hormones are busy again. I could have filled an entire wig with what has come out – don’t dare to wear my hair loose! Lack of sleep probably doesn’t help either. The cycling, getting up early, and my OH and kids having (had) a cold last weekend also influenced me, Monday and Tuesday some throath ache, but today my whole body aches – backpains, leg pains, neck pains. No throat ache though. It could be my period starting again, but could also just be sore muscles. Who knows. Or it could be the starting inflammation of one breast (I’m breasfeeding but “milk” (to put it bluntly) at work) – it hurts a bit. I hope it won’t get worse, as this weekend my daughter will turn 2! Visit on Sunday, thinking about hand-outs/treats at the daycare (and making those!) cleaning up this pighole– eh the house, getting supplies.. Time to recover? Tomorrow night I’ll go to bed early. Really!

/end of rant.

Reading blogs is falling behind a bit again, and I noticed I can’t enter the challenges I wanted to enter – not enough time to make cards for it. Ofcourse, several challenges of my favourite stamps I won’t pass!

 

So this card.

Daqadoodles141005zo173452

I began by stamping the image with Stazon pumpkin, then added some Ripe persimmon on the stamped image as well. I created a mask with self adhesive window foil, and shaded around the pumpkin palace, then took the mask off ans saw I hadn’t placed it correctly. What a great luck! Usually it’s a bad thing, but this looked great! perfect highlights without me messing up with the white gel pen😀.

I placed the mask a bit higher and coloured again, probably with Wild Honey (a new favourite), Scattered Straw, goint to Old Paper and Pumice Stone.

Next I stamped and embossed the leaves with mustard seed disterss embossing powder. I put some Gathered Twigs onto an acryllic block, and coloured the embossed images with a water brush – unfortunately the yellow wasn’t as yellow anymore, and got rubbed away a bit when I wiped the embossed image to remove the ink from the embossed parts. I embossed one leaf again (the left one) – but though the others looked fine too. After all, I used Distress embossing powder, and don’t they look perfectly distressed now?

To finish it off I stamped a sentiment from the Fairylands Words set. I have fallen in love with these stamps too – I kind of had abandoned my clearstamps, but now I’m using them a bit more again due to this set. And this set is so great to work with, and so versatile! I stamped the text with versamark and emobssed with copper embossing powder (Docrafts). Inked the edges a bit with Gathered twigs too.

Oh I completely forgot the flowers in front of the palace – not sure when I made those, probably before masking the pumpkin palace. They are embossed with embossing powder too.

Daqadoodles141005zo173125

I took this sandlike background paper to make a matting layer behind it, but I liked it more as a frame so I put that on top of the image. Under it I placed a piece of Pumice-Stone inked up paper.

This card was made for the Chocolate Baroque Colour Challenge #3.

 

Oh I’ve been crafty in between, in those pockets of time – been altering business cards! I had great fun. My backlog of still-to post cards is getting bigger – if only I could post and not talk every time. I’d have no backlog and be in bed on time. Ah well, this online journal is helping me too – retrace my creative process, enjoying the steps again, and preserving how I made it for later. (Which reminds me, I should make another backup of my blog.) (Not tonight though.)

8 thoughts on “Desert Storm

  1. Stunning! What else can I say? Absolutely beautiful!

    On another note, try relax in the bathtub with some epsom salts, they are really good to deal with the ache body, and 20 minutes will make a huge difference.
    About the throat ache, have you tried a shot of 1 teaspoon of turmeric, 1/2 teaspoon of ginger, (add a little bit of boiling water, then add) 1 teaspoon of honey, and juice of half lemon? We use it here a lot! When we are making prevention we use one dose a day (in the morning), if we already got a bug we use it 3 times a day. No antibiotics or chemical stuff around here🙂

    • I’d have to make time for the bathtub and go to my parent’s place – we only have a small one. Tthe bathroom is very dated, still from the previous owners. We plan to renovate it ofcourse, but no set plans yet.
      I’ll try that recipe next time as it’s gone now, but thanks for sharing! I don’t like antibiotics or chemicals, I prefer natural ingredients too.

  2. Fantastic card Debbie. Love the design and great stamping. No mention of carnivals at all!!🙂 Hope you are feeling better soon. You will regain you fitness in no time with all the cycling. Thank you for playing along with the Chocolate Baroque Color Challenge.
    Take care,
    Flo x

    • Hi Miranda, thank you🙂 Ofcourse the stamp does the most of the work – it allready has that mystical feeling to it, I keep thinking Ali Baba or Aladin. Or any of the other 999-night fairytale.

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

