Home » Cards » Psychedelic Party

Psychedelic Party

Here is my first entry for the chocolate baroque challenge:

Daqadoodles141005zo173001

Ever since I saw those swirls from the abstract fragments set I thought “retro”, though not quite (as that would be more geometric). Still, when this colour challenge was presented – brown, orange, yellow (and grey/cream/offwhite) I thought: yes, retro! (Not that I’m good at retro, or have ever made a retro thing, it’s just that now I had to try something new.

Stamped with distress ink ripe persimmon (or spiced marmalade?) then clear embossed, inked inside with vintage photo, mustard seed around it, fading via Scattered Straw to Pumice Stone.
Then embossed in a Tim Holz embossing folder (probably called Rays) – highlighted the rays a bit more with yellow, inked the edges with the orange.
Added the pearls to it (the first use of my premade batch, yay!) with the idea of adding a sentiment in between it, with the card rotated 90 degrees to the left. A word like: Disco! or: Party! Or: ” staying alive”

Problem: I didn’t have that sentiment, none of my alphabet stamps fit the theme, and couldn’t be bothered to spend another hour behind the pc looking for the appropriate font. I knew I would end up hourS behind the pc, not just one.

Time for a small test. I showed my partner the card as it was then, and asked him what he thought. I pretty much thought it breathed retro, or disco.
Do you know what he said?
Kermis. Carnival.
Uh what? How can you think that?
Well, the wavy thing, and the rays…
Ok, I said, and went back to the crafting table.

What more retro, disco, old but not vintage old? Hmm hippies? Flowers! Ok, flowers… I stamped the flowers on a separate sheet, dabbed some ink on my craftsheet and coloured the flowers. I cut them out (note that I don’t say fussy cut, as I didn’t, only the first half…. then I was too tired. But would you have noticed if I hadn’t said it?)

Played around a bit with the layout. But what to put in the middle? Still didn’t have a sentiment. But, I did have this big mushroom from my second Chocolate Baroque entry (actually I made that card first, but haven’t blogged about it yet. I’m not much for chronological order.) Yay, I could use left overs!

Hippie… drugs…mushroom…

Jaaah, and then I could use some of the fairyland stamps! “Welcome to fairyland”? “Let the adventure begin”? Those would have fitted equally well. How about “sprinkled with fairydust” for an added dose of psychedelics! Ofcourse, no way I could stamp that onto the embossed paper, so stamped it onto tissue paper, embossed it, and glued it. Oh, as you can see, I didn’t use the big mushroom – it didn’t fit. I made 2 new ones. (See how I use my leftovers?)
I sprinkled those with fairydust. That was possible because I had made a card with her first, you know, that second entry which I haven’t blogged about yet.

So that was my card, for the Chocolate Baroque Colour Challenge. No idea who I would give this to. (And you know what my partner said when I asked him again what he though? “Still Carnival, sorry…”. Hm. I think I need to feed him some more mushrooms with some special fairy dust, maybe then he’ll see!.

Daqadoodles141005zo173519

7 thoughts on “Psychedelic Party

  1. I loved reading how this card came about, especially with your OH’s input! Great design, and it is such a cheery card. Thanks for entering the Chocolate Baroque challenge, Judith xx

  2. I have tears rolling down my face from laughing!!!🙂 What a fabulous post. Really enjoyed reading it. Fantastic card. Love how you used the abstract fragment (my fav set for this year) stamp. Thank you for playing along with the Chocolate Baroque Challenge.
    Hugs, Flo x

    • Thanks🙂 It was a bit frustrating he kept seeing some Carnival kind of theme. I kept asking him: really? But what about the colours? And now that I’ve added flowers? What do you think when you see these colours and these mushrooms? With sparkly on them? And with that text?
      – no use.
      He kept seeing Carnival.

  3. PMSL! Mushroom, wavy thing and fairy dust … I’ll have what you’re having, thank you very much! Awesome card, Debbie. Fab colours and don’t get me started on the imagery!
    Thank you for sharing your talent in Chocolate Baroque’s Third Colour Challenge. A new colour challenge has started. I hope you’ll join us again… seriously!😉
    hugs, Asha

    • Hehe oh what I have is easily available – just cut your amount of sleep in half and add 3 kids under 4 and work for 28hrs a week😉.
      Thanks for your comment, and I ofcourse will try to participate in the next challenge!

  4. Pingback: Making of a Whispered Autumn Song | DaqaDoodles

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

