Home » Cards » Magic happens all around

Magic happens all around

I started this card not as a card, but just playing around with a new stencil (stars), distress paint budled sage, distress stain bronze and rusty hinge on green cardstock. Then I also tried out my new Sheena Douglas embossing folder – it started to look quite ok, maybe I could use it? It had an autumn feel to it, with the leaves and brown and glimmering colours. So I searched for some challenges to help me by adding some boundaries within which I would make something.

The themes of the challenges I chose were: Autumn/Fall, inspirational image,  make your own leaves, Anything but CAS, Frame it, use stamping on tissue paper and decoupage technique and use Design by Ryn stamps.. Some might have closed allready as I dind’t like the finished card untill today, when the room was brightyl lit and I stood a bit further away – the card was as intended. Very autumn like, a bit of an ancient feel to it because of the mosaique, the pillars and colours, and the fairy not that well visible. I wanted her to be transparent – only visible to those who look.

An autumn scenery in an interesting frame. Here it is:

Daqadoodles140925do130645

How I made it

I continued with the background by colouring in the leaves with barn door distress marker. I was wondering what to put on it – then I rememered the arch from a French Kissed card which I had laying around for ages, this looked like a card where I could use it. Imagine walking around in a forest, and stumbling on an ancient ruin where you witness this magical scene. I wanted it to be behind the embossing, so I put the card and arch on it’s place in the embossing folder, and then pressed with my hands only on the one pillar, rubbing that spot untill it was embossed as well. Then I knew where and how to cut it.

Next I stamped the fairy and squirrel with on tissue paper. It is one stamp, and I inked the body of the fairy with versafine grey and the squirrel, wings and nuts with stazon black. I coloured it (the fairy very lightly as she needed to be hardly visible) and glued it on. Unfortunately, my plan to make the fairy transparent succeeded. (uh what?) Yup. No fairy visible.

Daqadoodles140925do130742

See the plant? It used to be full of flowers, just lovely. My children liked the plant too…

The prettiest side to the house. I've got little vases on the table, for when the children pick flowers (usually with a very short stem) - they are filled with these now.

The prettiest side to the house. I’ve got little vases on the table, for when the children pick flowers (usually with a very short stem) – they are filled with these now.

The emptiest side to the garden. In my kids defense, the stems break very easily.

The emptiest side to the garden. In my kids defense, the stems break very easily.

So I restamped onto tissue paper, cut out only the body of the fairy and decoupaged it. If you look closely (don’t do it!) you can see that decoupaging tissue paper on the exact same spot is impossible. (As some parts of the fairy were a bit more visible). I higlighted the squirrel by drawing black lines and white lines in some places, also outlined the nbuts and wings a bit more so the contrast between them and the fairy would be bigger. I stamped and embossed the text, adding the white higlight there as well, and also highlighed some parts of the Arch and the big leaf.

Daqadoodles140925do130811

The leaves: The two big leaves in the upper rightcorner are from my stash, (sizzix die, and one leaf has moddeling paste through a leaves stencil) only coloured it a bit more red so it matched the card / autumn theme more. The 4 smaller leaves (Marianne Design die) were also from my stash, they are as old as the arch, which might be 3 years? ANyway, they were diecut from green cardstock on which I had stamped randomly in green and had aged it a bit with forest moss ink. It was too green for this card. I took some decopuage glue and followed the nerves of the leaf, let it dry and then ink it and add some perfect pearls copper on it. (The decoupage glue acted as a sort of rsist for the ink). The leaves were a bit lost in the corner, it needed something extra. That happened to be that piece of string that I found on the table (or ground)… no idea where it came from, maybe one of the kids found it outside, but it was great for this card🙂

Daqadoodles140925do130845

In the lower left I pt mod melts figures, the middle leaf is Martha Stewart clay and the outer two are made with hot glue. Several layers of yellow, green and red acryllic paint (too yellow – add some red. Hmm too red, add some green. Too green, the yellow is gone! add some yellow etc’. Finished with perfect pearls copper.

I forgot an important part, the frame! Ofcourse I made that before glueing the leaves in place. Cut from pink cardstock, then added some metallic colour (I honestly can’t remember if it is acryllic paint or the new copper distress stain – I got so many things in copper colour as I love it!) I put a Crafter’s Workhsop stencil on it, used modelling paste, let it dry. When dry I replaced the stencil and painted it with distress paint. Let dry, adhere to the card, and on to the leaves.

Daqadoodles140925do130835

Last I wanted some more autumny things, and got out my paper pens. I don’t have the bright red, but the orange suited very well too to be little berries. I was trying some things out, like marbling with the paper pens, so they turend out to be more like mushrooms then berries, it’s up to the viewer to decide what they are😉

Have a look at my second post to see the miniature marbled pearls which I made with my paper/gloss/perlen pens! (I have yet to write it, will be out late tonight at the latest).

I was worried that the card didn’t have enough contrast, the colours are very close to eachother. The frame was very light, so I dabbed an Black Sooth sponge on it which wasn’t inked, so just a tiny bit of black sooth. Not sure it is even very visible, I can’t really point it out now but at the time it seemed better.

It’s not really a card-card, it’s more like a small wallhanging. It’s A5 size so not too small.

Challenges

I’d like to enter this card in the following challenges:

  • Stampingback – Anything NOT CAS (mijn 2e inzending, geen stampinback stempels gebruikt)
  • Our Creative Corner – Autumnal image (berries, autumn, leaves, texture, the beauty that is seen when you take a second look, or Look at the world around you,)
  • Simply Create Too – Autumn (oops, allready entered 3 times, which is max!)
  • Panpasteluk – Frame it (sorry don’t have pan pastels yet!) -oops too late for that one, but…
  • PanPastelUK – Embossing (The new challenge, my card fits that one as well, and I made the frame mainly for you! Following via RSS feed)
  • Ducth Card Lovers – Autumn and make your own leaves
  • Craftstamper – Take it Make it September: Stamping on tissue paper ( a day too late for it)
  • Designs by Ryn – Always Anything goes, use Designs by Ryn products.
  • Vandicrafts Artistry Challenge – #9: Autumn
  • The Artistic Stamper – Autumn colours;
  • Fantasy Stampers – autumn colours;

edit 28th of September: I found the pictures of the disappearing fairy.

 

20 thoughts on “Magic happens all around

  1. What a poetic idea of making your fairy only visible to those who want to “see”. Love that!
    A beautiful autumnal piece of art!

    Thank you so much for sharing it with us at Our Creative Corner!

    Claudia x

    • I still have to learn how to make quick cards – I easily spend 2 or more hours on a card, excluding drying times! Often a card is made in two or more evenings, or I start a few backgrounds one evening, finish one or more fronts the next evening, and mat it onto cardstock / make a card with it. And then right before I need the card I panic because I haven’t made an envelop! So now I’m trying to also spend an evening just making envelopes – I gather some finished cards and make envelopes for them. I don’t use “card” forms or standard sizes for my cards, the size is just the size that seems right, so I can’t really make batches of envelopes. Ofcourse, sometimes the size of the card is predictable as it’s made out of A5 paper.
      Haha how much I can digress by just a comment about lots of work, hehe🙂

      • The more information the better when it comes to art I think ;)) I can completely relate to the ‘time’ thing too! The projects that I only need a small amount of time to complete, end up taking me hours lol I love that you make your own envelopes too. These must really be coveted gifts to receive from you😀

  2. Pingback: What have marbled pearls and Nils Holgersson have to do with eachother? | DaqaDoodles

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

