Home » Cards » Steampunk Prototype Hic Automatum Video

Steampunk Prototype Hic Automatum Video

Or some half made up Latin for: Prototupe for a close-up automated view. (Although Video means “I see”). The thing has a name, there is a word for it, but I don’t know it. Not even in Dutch. Imaginarium? Automated moving puppet theatre? It’s the sort of thing you see in theatres, with moving waves (by moving cardboard). Only this one is automated – you wind it up by turning the wheel. The pin on the left hand side keeps the tension on it. (oh dang, I didn’t make a lever to release the tension! adding another note to the prototype…)

Oh I haven’t showed you yet what I’m talking about. Well here it is:

Daqadoodles140916di003553

The waves, fish and clouds should move when the wheels turn, only the chain for the clouds is missing. (How do the clouds stay up then? Uhhh…) Once the gears(cogs) are fixed, the clouds wiggle because of the end of the beam on the left side wich touches the gear. Or cog.

Daqadoodles140916di003548

The background is made with aluminum foil and alcohol inks, the clouds, fishes (who put those fishes in there? They’re not salt water fishes!) and the waves are given their faux metallic look by rubbing a crayon over the surface and then inking the surface. This effect looks better IRL. Really. Especially on that other card…

Daqadoodles140916di003716

Cogs(gears) are from my stash, diecut from a Papermania? Cogs(gears) die set, painted with turqoise and copper acryllic paint. The frame underneat the gears (cogs) is made with rusty hinge and perfect mist perfect copper spray. The screws are made with a Paperpen, and then when it was fairly dry, I put a real screwdriver in it.

I’m tired, so this is it! Tomorrow I’ll add this card to the following challenges, if they haven’t closed yet and I meet the requirements (I always check right before I enter):

Country View Crafts – September challenge: Nautica hmm acutally Nautical means something else, it’s not just fishies but more about navigation, sailors, ships.)

Sandee and Amelie Steampunk’s steampunk challenges – Steampunk Stories – I did tell myself lots of stories while making this. About how I could have REALLY made this work – get proper cogs, line it up, make things really move. That would be fun to do! But oooh the time… That clock… Anyway, I’d envisioned some kind of steampunk tinkerer making this protype, and maybe one day he’ll make a real working model.

Nighty all!

5 thoughts on “Steampunk Prototype Hic Automatum Video

  1. I am a big fan of steampunk and your project is awesome! I totally wish I picked steampunk for this weeks challenge lol … although that being said … steampunk will be in the mix soon.🙂 This could totally be art on the wall!

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

