Home » Cards » Oh the fresh breeze of spring hailing the bright colours of summer

Oh the fresh breeze of spring hailing the bright colours of summer

There she is, and then she’s gone. We’ll not gone, but my blogging is very irregular. I just have spurts of creating, and then spurts of writing about it, and then I don’t have any of those two. I have been creating some nice things.

First, two cards made in June, one for my Aunt who turned 50, and the other for a friend who had surgery and probably could use a little cheering up.

Daqadoodles14_06_04_01404

This one was for my Aunt, the background stamp is from Chocolate Baroque, the leaf is from Designs by Ryn and the branch and flowers are cutting dies from Marianne Design and maybe Joy Crafts. And hey look! I used patterned paper! whoohoo! That’s something I rarely do, as I love to create backgrounds myself.

I inked up an acryllic block with Squeezed Lemonade , spritzed with water and pressed on my paper. Then I stamped the flower with Mustard Seed, and the leaves with ink from a small cube. (Different colours?) I also stamped with a lighter green (Hero Arts Meadow or what’s it called – sorry don’t have the time to look it up, but it’s obviously a green, that is probably enough information. Or actually even that is not necessary, as you can see it’s green. Unless the colours of your monitor are way off. Just to be clear: This is a bright yellow card with green leaves and blue and red flowers!)

The diecuts are coloured as well (sponged, maybe stamped over it, etc). Inking up lots of edges, glue it down and be very happy with the bright cheery summery result.

Daqadoodles14_06_04_01405

Now, the next card with a lovely flowerstamp from Chocolate Baroque, I loved the look of it in a previous card so I sort of copied it.

Daqadoodles14_06_05_00199

 

Here I only used the lighter yellow, squeezed lemonade, for stamping the background flowers. The sentiment is also from Chocolate Baroque.

Daqadoodles14_06_05_002011

I’m not sure if I used my versamark pen here, I’m sure I had it by then (I didn’t with the previous card). I didn’t have a stamping thingamajig/ruler/outliner/positioner kit then though. It is something I love now. That, and the anti static bag. (Which is MUCH smaller then it looks like on the image, then again, I’m terrible at imagining sizes of objects when dimensions are mentioned. I probably didn’t even check the dimensions, but I know I thought the dust bag would be 300% bigger. I still love it though, only because it’s so small I am searching for it often too.)

Not much different techniques from the previous card on this one. I used caran d’ache neo colors for the flower. Oh, and a stencil and shabby shutters on the white card part.

I like the feeling of a fresh starting summer, due to the fresh green, blue and yellow but also the warmth of the yellow in the first card. On the second card my choise to not use mustard seed worked well, the background is calmer which suits someone recovering from surgery better, and the flower pops out more.

Another card I wouldn’t mind making again. Although I know, that if I don’t make one like it immediately after, I won’t make one like it in a looong time, if I ever do at all, because I’m too busy trying new techniques or going ooh and aah over new stamps, colours, things. I’m sure you know what I mean.

Anyway, I’m entering this card to the following challenge:

Designs By Ryn – September Challenge.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Oh the fresh breeze of spring hailing the bright colours of summer

  1. Hey Debbie, Spring is coming to your part of the world and here I am watching the leaves slowly turning colour. Both times of change🙂 I’m sure your friend was so touched by your card. A very kind gesture. They are both beautiful. I think I like the top one best. Great composition and combination of stamps! Oh, and I noticed that you added my challenge to your post – thank you!

    • It’s going to be Autumn here too, I made the cards back at the end of May I think. I just didn’t see a change to post them yet! Adding your challenge to my post and a badge on the side is what many challengblog ask, so why not do it for you to? I only realize now I see it that the image isn’t really suitable for a badge, “Designs by Ryn” should be big over the entire image and not tiny in a corner. Hmm let’s see if I can make that and then a code others can use for their blog.

  2. Beautiful cards!
    Yeh, the blog part is fun but involves too much information… I try to give as much info as possible so people won’t have to ask what I’ve used… And I can’t remember lol

  3. Thanks!
    Hehe I can’t remember often either, as during creating it doesn’t matter and everything is spread around and usually I use at least 2 of the same colour. Or three. (3 blues, 2 yellows, red, red-orange, red-purple, red-red, some rusty as well? why not..)
    So I am taking a lighter approach on describing what I used now – if someone really wants to know in depth then all they need to do is ask and I dig down into my supplies to check for the correct names😉. My time will be even more limited, so I should keep posts even shorter. (Should, because I know I can’t…)

  4. Hello Debbie, your designs are beautiful I love the colours and the combination of Chocolate Baroque with Designs by Ryn (my two most favorite stamp companies). I’m with you on creating your own background vs using designer papers… it’s so much fun, Shirleyx

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

