Home » Cards » Lucky origami crane and blue fish

Lucky origami crane and blue fish

Not a very creative title or post this time, both are just very descriptive (and a short post, at least it’s short to me!).

Materials for the first card:

  • wallpaper from a sample book
  • stazon ink
  • scissors/paper cutter and glue.
  • Origami Crane from Designs by Ryn
  • Origami Lily from Designs by Ryn
  • Three leaves set from Designs by Ryn
  • Caran d’ache neocolors
Origami Crane

Origami Crane

As you can see, I didn’t add a sentiment yet, I’ll do so when I know the occasion. Plenty of space for it🙂.

How to make it:

Cut up the wallpaper. I cut up randomly first, then started gluing down and cut parts to fit more or less. After gluing it down I put some ink on the cutting lines to make them more visible. Glue them onto some scrappaper, don’t worry about the edges – make it larger then the rectangle, cut it to a rectangle later on. (or another shape with your embossing machine or a free form). Stamp the images with Stazon or another ink that holds on shiny smooth surfaces (as this wallpaper was shiny and smooth, and most wallpaper is “washable” nowadays, so dye based ink will not set on it probably). The stamping wasn’t very well visible, so I used my caran d’ache neocolor crayons to add some colour to the flora and crane. You can cut it to a rectangle before stamping or after, not sure what I did but I don’t think it matters much. Ink up the edges, glue upon a base card and you have a simple, sort of modern card. I left lots of room for a sentiment – either for a long quote or a simple one word sentiment would fit. The latter woul turn it into more of a mens card – being more metallic looking and with straight, hard lines in it and few words😉.

On this image you can see the shiny surface better, and the stamping is not really what draws the attention: (A card with effect!)

Daqadoodles14_06_05_141422

The next card is a blue fish in blue.

Used materials:

  • Dylusions ink spray
  • caran d’ache neocolors
  • Butterfly fish from Designs by Ryn
  • Sea Bubbles from Designs by Ryn
  • White gel pen
  • Black pen

Daqadoodles14_06_05_141417

How to make it:

Spray ink onto a large acryllic block, put your paper on top of it and press flat. Pull paper off (don’t drag) and let dry (or use a heat gun for impatient ones like me). Take your pattern stamp (sea bubbles here), spray wome water on them and stamp on the card. Dab dry with a cloth – you are basically removing the ink where you have stamped.

Stamp the fish. Wet the little fish and dab again to remove more ink in the fish so he is either lighter or you can more easily colour him in. Colour the fins, add some highlighting with a gelpen and make the eye white. With a water soluble crayon, go around the edge, then go over it with a wet brush. Take your black pen and sketch the frame, add a few white lines as well.

Before sending this off I added a sentiment “Have a fantastic birthday” where I changed the fantastic to fintastic, highlighting the “i”. Furthermore, I coloured the fins even more – I made a maks for the fish, cut off the fins and used the bodymask and the negative of the mask to cover up the card, leaving only the fins visible, then sprayed it with Perfect Pearls mist copper. I partly stamped rising bubbles from his mouth, (only a few bubbles) and used a white gelpen for highlights. Then I added Glossy accents to it’s eye and the bubbles and send it off to it’s receiver without taking a picture! At least I think I did – I can’t find more pictures of him. If I do find them I’ll add them here ofcourse!

 

4 thoughts on “Lucky origami crane and blue fish

  1. Wow your work is relly something, I love your fish card but the card with the special effect is really amazing ,how did you do this, real ART I love it!!

    Greetings
    Maria

  2. Hi Daqa . . . thank you for visiting my blog via Darnell. I hope you return and will be able to play along with Rudolph Day challenge next month.

    Love the 2 beautiful cards you are showing in this post.

    Hugs, Sarn xxx

    • Thank you for visiting and your comment! I almost started on a christmas card today (even with the kids around me) but some “Hug” cards had priority – one of these days I’ll finish some christmas cards though. I have to… don’t want to be making christmas cards after christmas again!

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

