Home » Cards » WOYWW # 269: Time is the essence of life

WOYWW # 269: Time is the essence of life

It’s been a while since I participated in a WOYWW, but it’s about time I did again, as I made some pictures while making the card for the first Chocolate Baroque colour challange (july/august). See the end of the post for the picture of the card, and another desk- picture. (For an older desk picture, of how it was back on November, see my next post. (Yup, NEXT post. I’m not working in an entirely chronological order when it comes to blogging – I can time travel, hurray!).

Daqadoodles140728ma154327

Hmm now what’s on there: My heat tool, a cloth, my much beloved broken and fixed water sprayer, distress inks, stazon inks, Chocolate Baroque stamp, glue, embossing ink, acryllic blocks, stamppositioner, embossing powder, an empty teacup (hurray! I emptied it!), cuttlebug, binder with stampimages, scissors, my phone, waterbrush, another cloth – I love that one too. It’s an old rag, almost falling apart, but it’s just the right size, right absorbency, and been with me all my “crafting” life. The yellow cloth is not as good, that one is for cleaning the desk or acryllic blocks. The smudgy rag is for lifting off water / ink from cards.

After having received a new stencil (clockwork from Tim Holtz) I ofcourse had to play with it, even while my kids were around. Ofcourse that resulted in them playing with it and me trying to keep things in one piece. I took some light coloured distress inks (so the inkstains on their hands would not be very intense), and having the Chocolate Baroque colour challenge in mind I took out my distress inks Tumbled Glass and Shabby Shutters.

I liked the colour and stencil combination a lot, so I managed to grab a piece of cardstock for myself and started on the next project.

The clockwheels were great, but I needed to add some (CB) stamps too, and I was thinking Steampunk style. I browsed through my stamps, stopped at the Steampunk Christmas set and chose the flowers from that set.

Then trying out some different stamping inks (Stazon red, DI festive berries or fired brick, only embossing ink and embossing with red or Queens gold embossing powder). Wiping away the ink a bit on the holly leaves of the stamp, inking only the middle or outer leaves and restamping with the stampruler and embossing it, then colouring it with DI and water. Used colours: Fired Brick, Mustard Seed and Scattered Straw.

Daqadoodles140728ma154355 Daqadoodles140728ma154417

I had a quick detour while playing with the stamps from Design by Ryn and alcohol ink, using the cover from the EZ-mount foam as base. Too bad one side was too smooth, luckily the stamps were sort of symmetric so they still fit on the piece of backing.

Daqadoodles140728ma165216

Then choosing the flowers which would go on the card, and the layout. I had intended for a small flower on a big flower at first, but liked 2 big flowers twisted in eachother too. Only that would cover too much of the stenciling. A small flower on a big flower would cover the lovely gold embossed gear too much. So only 1 flower per clockwork.

Daqadoodles140728ma154437 Daqadoodles140728ma154350 Daqadoodles140728ma154352 Daqadoodles140728ma154517 Daqadoodles140728ma165310

Next, some text. I wanted it to be time related. My neece, who is still on the IC in the hospital, will need lots of time to recover (if she recovers). We believe in her, and that it only takes time for her to “grow” again.  It made me think of this song:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7eFYtkOiXo   Nitin Sawhney – Street Guru.

In it, there is a line: Time is the essence of life.

It just fit my mood, so there we are, the sentiment. Stamped in black, and distressed with aged paper and scattered straw.

Last were the butterflies, I wanted to add some more blue to it, so stamped the CB butterfly from the summer fairy set several times. I kind of repeated the process for the flowers: clear embossing, black embossing, silverywhite embossing, no embossing. Coloured them with Distress inks and Caran D’ache Neocolors. Oh and I used glossy accent on some of them.

Daqadoodles140730wo123501 Daqadoodles140730wo123516

Then I remembered the small wooden laser cut butterflies I had recently bought at the Xenos. I applied some gesso to it, and coloured them with the Caran D’ache Neocolors and added glossy accent to three of the prettiest.

The outline of the stencil is a bit wobbly/aged, I liked that so I cut out a “frame” equally wobbly. The basecard is straight. I coloured that with brushed corduroy, vintage photo and a little bit of black sooth and a tiny bit of real coffee. (There are more crafters out there that dip their brush in their drinks when in need of just a tiny bit of water and having no water around…right??) I wanted it to be brown to be a bit more clocklike, like an old standing clock (I know that is not the right english word for it, it’s the literal translation of the dutch word, but I think you know what I mean).

Daqadoodles140730wo123944

It was fun making it, and I am pleased with the result, eventough some more green wouldn’t be too bad. Then again, the stencilling would get lost if more is added. I think the card would be great too with just the stencilling and one flower, that would be a nice card too. I’ll keep that in mind when I’m in need for a quick card. Just the stencilling, a flower, maybe even a butterfly – I still have lots of those two lying around now – and a fitting sentiment and voila, ready! (Then there is matting the card and making the envelop – I hate making those, as I usually discover at the last moment that I don’t have an envelop that fits!)

Daqadoodles140730wo123600

My dining table in the end, just this afternoon (the other picture was of 2 days ago):

Daqadoodles140730wo124323

26 thoughts on “WOYWW # 269: Time is the essence of life

  1. Such a pretty card Debbie, the layout is gorgeous, I love the red flowers against the soft greens and blues, and the brown behind is great for that aged feel. The little butterflies are a lovely addition. Thanks for your second entry to the Chocolate Baroque challenge, Judith xx

  2. Lovely experiments with ink and colour. I’m always amazed at how much the ink choice matters! I quite like the fish stamped over the blue – he looks lovely and water-coloury.

    Happy WOYWW!
    Mary Anne (5)

    • The fish is lovely, he is from Designs by Ryn (one of my favourite stamp designers) – I’m new to alcohol inks so occasionally try it out with whatever I have lying around.

  3. Hi, Debbie, thanks for popping over to visit me. I think if I had wee ones in my home, as you do, that bowls would not work for me, either! Your card came out well — you’ve been very productive! Happy WOYWW! ~ Laura #60

    • Yup, the smalles one is 4 weeks old, so still in my pregnancy leave (untill he is about 3 months) – when the other 2 are at the daycare I have some spare time for crafting🙂

  4. Hi Debbie, happy WOYWW, great post and I love your card. I’m hoping to post a card to Chocolate Baroque I love their stamps. Have a great week RobynO#29

  5. Hi Debbie, your colourful design is beautiful, love the use of the clock stencil, which is now on my wish list, it looks fabulous with the Steampunk flowers. The flowers you used from Steampunk Christmas are one of my favorite designs (but I sure have many favs) from CB. Thanks for joining us in the fun at Chocolate Baroque’s Colour Challenge. Shirleyxx

      • Oh I forgot to put in the blogpost that I extended the stencil design – it’s a rectangular shape but I just turned it untill the clocknumbers matched again. It is almost possible to make an entire clock, just a little piece around the 1 is not on the stencil.

  6. The flowers work really well eith the clock face and the finished card is lovely.
    Gorgeous butterflies. Have a good week and happy crafting, Angela x # 38

  7. What a fabulous post Debbie. So much inspiration. I especially love how you have used the clock stencil multiple times. That is such a great idea. Super effects. Thank you for playing along with the Chocolate Baroque Color challenge.
    Have a lovely weekend.
    Hugs, Flo xx

    • Thank you🙂 I do like it when a stencil or embossing folder can be continued. I just didn’t want the rectangular shape to be the dominant shape, by continuing the stencil I was able to emphasize the round shapes and thus the clocks.

  8. Wow, long post! Admire that you’re finding time to craft and clever you, picking colours that won’t stain little hands too deeply, I wouldn’t have thought of that! The clock makes a lovely base for the flowers, and I really like the colour and ‘look’ you’ve achieved on the fish.

    • I know, sorry about the long post – I sometimes forget that it takes a lot of time to read long posts too, untill I encounter one myself😉. That’s why I fill it up with pictures – those without time can read those, and people who want to know more can read the text as well.
      And as for staining little hands: they have their own way of looking like bloodied martians. (with the help of their felt-tip pens).

  9. Pingback: Vintage Autumn | DaqaDoodles

  10. Pingback: Black and white. No colour?! | DaqaDoodles

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

