Home » Cards » On to happier topics – a colorful card

On to happier topics – a colorful card

While the situation in the previous post continues and hopefully will only get better, the crafting fever has struck me again.

Maybe it’s because a few weeks ago I finally got inspiration for the birth announcement card, and making that sparkled my creative mind. Or maybe because it’s a way for me to relax. Anyway, before I can post you my recent makes I still have a backlog of cards to show you.  The birth announcement card will be posted after the baby is born, ofcourse.

Daqadoodles13_09_25_00202

The first card I’d like to show you is one I really loved, such vibrant colours! Made around august last year, and used as a “sorry!” card – I had forgotten my aunts big birthday party – I felt so bad that I had totally forgotten about it!

I can’t remember exactly how I made it – was it distressink + water on an acryllic block, then pressed onto the paper or was it also chunks of salt onto the card? I think I did put salt on the card.Then I clear embossed the flower edge on the bottom of the main frame, and used caran ‘d arche crayons to colour it in and make the contrast a bit better – it wasn’t very visible with the light purple. The swirls stamps is from Designs by Ryn, and also colored with the caran d’ache water soluble crayons. The flowerborder, central flower stamp and flower on the bottom strip are from Chocolate Baroque. The central flower is again colourd with the crayons. Then I added some gold tinsel embossing and white and black highlights and the sentiment with a clear stamp alphabet sheet (can’t remember the name).

Daqadoodles13_09_25_00185 Daqadoodles13_09_25_00176

Matting the card and adding that glittery ribbon finished the card. I even made a sort of matchin envelope, with a stamp from chocolate baroque which I inked up with tattered rose and/or old paper distress ink, then sprayed some water over it very lightly and stamped it. I wanted a watery, faded look, with low contrast to the background.

Daqadoodles13_09_25_00167

 

Daqadoodles13_09_25_001510Although not perfect ( I did make some mistakes here and there), I really like this card, love the colours.

 

8 thoughts on “On to happier topics – a colorful card

    • Thank you! Once in a while I make great cards, but as you can see in my next post, there’s also plenty of “meh” cards still. In time, more and more cards will turn out well. Unless I keep challenging myself with difficult themes or styles which aren’t my own! (Like trying to make a birth-card in the same style as the announcementcard.)

  1. Hey Debbie, thanks so much for being the first person to post a creation to my blog for this month🙂 I really appreciate it! I’m trying something new and hope that it works out. Your card is lovely! I agree with Trishia – thought the same thing.
    Thanks as well for leaving me such a thoughtful comment on my blog. No worries, I’m not getting rid of Canada Post. Just adding more options for heavier orders.
    All my best to you🙂
    Ryn

    • Thanks! I do think this linkywidget (or inlinkz or whatever it is called) will work better for you – many blogs use it, and you can focus more on your work then on writing a blogpost, editing links, checking them etc. Glad you will still use the Canada Post the way you did🙂.

  2. Absolutely stunning colours in that card, and I love the pale version on the matching envelope – so elegant and stylish. Gorgeous work!
    Alison x

  3. Pingback: Oh the fresh breeze of spring hailing the bright colours of summer | DaqaDoodles

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

