Home » Cards » A song for each step

A song for each step

Daqadoodles13_10_16_22157

It was fun making this card, it was a bit different from what I usually make. I started out with a page from an old thin book for people who start learning english. The paper is a bit more fragile then my usual paper so I had to work a bit more careful. I refound my sizzix flower dies, and had fun using them on fabric! Fabric? There’s no fabric on the card! That’s right, but I only decided against using the cut out fabric after the inkin/masking, when I tried them on the page. It didn’t look right.

I look forward to using my dies on more fabric scraps.

I masked both the negative and the positive cut of the die-cut, which gave a nice layered effect. I seem to be in love with the Persimmon orange colour from distress in combination with blue (Peacock Feathers is still a favourite!).

Then, time for the words. “May songbirds serenade you every step along the way”  has a very poetic feel to it, it matches the page very well. Also, there are a few times when the word “footsteps” jumped out of the text – some are hidden in the end result though. I think on this page they are tracking someone, or following a path (I did read the short story back when I checked if this book could be used). Songbirds singing from between the flowers, lovely!

Daqadoodles13_10_08_233112

I stamped with versamark+stazon jet black and embossed with black embossing powder. Next was adding some more diecuts, and I set myself to the challenge to use some of my scraps of paper. I did find some good matches.

I also stamped a bird from Prima Marketing Pixie Glenn with Stazon Jet Black, and Non-Sequitur’s Tree Trunk with brown.

Last, I die-cut the tattered flowers from tissue paper (after colouring the tissue paper with distress ink and water and drying it). But that’s not all, I took my M-bossabilities folder Twigs and Tweets, inked up a part of it (and removed the ink on the leaves, leaving only the birds to be inked reddish) and embossed the flowers. So on every tissuepaper flower there is also a bird (or part of a bird) inked, and the embossing of the folder itself. In the end I didn’t use all 4 diecuts, I only used 2 and inked them up a bit, made them a bit greener as I thought the red was too red.

The branch is stamped on with a stanp with versamark and then heat embossed with shabby shutters distress embossing powder. The little die-cut birds from Marianne Design are inked up with versamark with a brush, and then dipped in embossing powder.

I used a Cheery Lynn die (Celtic Frame I think it’s called) to partially cut the top and bottom of the page.

Before gluing on the die-cuts I wanted to put a little bit more protection on the page, so I put decoupage glue on it. I was a bit slow in thinking, because only after rinsing the brush (which I do immediately after using the glue) I realized I ofcourse could glue on the die cuts now easily as well. No fussy gluing with small bits, as the entire surface of the card was sticky. I did end up having to add a bit of glue to some parts where it was too dry allready, but none the less it was fast and easy to add the diecuts.

Before adding decoupage glue - would it ruin the card by smearing out the ink? Also visible, on the right: die-cut fabric tattered flowers (blueish) and the flourishes die (and cut), inks and oh the antique greenish embossing powder! Love it!

Before adding decoupage glue – would it ruin the card by smearing out the ink? Also visible, on the right: die-cut fabric tattered flowers (blueish) and the flourishes die (and cut), inks and oh the antique greenish embossing powder! Love it!

That about sums it up. (I didn’t describe all steps, it’s obvious I inked the edges and matted the card onto cardstock etc).

Used materials

  • Distress inks, (distress) embossing powder, stazon, decoupage glue, tissue paper, old bookpage, scraps from the scrapheap.
  • Sizzix movers and shapers Tattered Flowers
  • Sizzix Swallow
  • Marianne Design creatable (The small birds, Ivy and branch)
  • Joy!Craft Vintage Flourishes
  • Stampendous stamp May Songbirds serenade you every step along the way
  • Prima Marketing Pixie Glade stamp on the branch for some more texture
  • De Stempelwinkel Tree Trunk from the Plate 101 Trees
  • Cheery Lynn Celtic Fire

Challenges

I’d like to enter this card in the following challenges:

Thank you for the visit!

5 thoughts on “A song for each step

  1. Een mooie kaart Debbie, en super dat je meedoet met de challenge van The Stamping Cottage

    Groetjes Marga

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

