Home » Uncategorized » WOYWW # 227, my showcase cupboard and a happy boy

WOYWW # 227, my showcase cupboard and a happy boy

I’ve been seeing various people join in on WOYWW (What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday) from Stamping Ground, and I’ve had the idea of joining for some time now, but I was too late each time. It’s 23:35 now, and I was in a rush as I thought it was Wednesday allready. Guess what, it’s still Tuesday! So I’m on time. Technically, it’s a picture taken at Tuesday, but I have to clean my workdesk each day (as it is our dining table), and tomorrow I won’t have time to craft (so no interesting picture there). Also, I don’t think I’ve cleaned it up before midnight – still some minor things to finish, and then clean, so actually it IS a Wednesday situation. Well then, here’s the picture:

Daqadoodles13_10_08_23308

Yup, that is my table, on it is a card I am working on, before applying the mod podge. You can see diecuts lying around, those are supposed to be going on the card. My box of cuttlebug folders and a few sizzix dies,, the rest is either quite clear what it is or not visible enough. Let me try a different angle:

Daqadoodles13_10_08_23307My crafting cupboard. Or rather, one of my crafting cupboards. I’ve made an extra shelve last week (in my previous posts I had mentioned cleaning up), it’s the one shelve in the different colour. The brown oranizers contain my stamps, and there’s lots of paper. Behind the blue bin with folders is a decoupaged box with scraps, on top of that is my box of rubber unmounted stamps which I won’t put on ez-mount because they are too small or because the foam doesn’t stick anymore, I use an acryllic block with a sticky thingy on it. (I forgot the name. Tacky stuff?)

My showcase place

Another important place is the place I take my pictures. Or used to. It’s across from the table:

Daqadoodles13_07_03_205720

Actually it’s different now, as it has two copper lamps and a copper phone on it. Also the 3 chests of drawers are gone, and the stuff on top of the cupboard which is seen in the mirror is gone. The big cupboard with drawers also contains mostly crafting stuff. It is a bit of a showcase place though. I love the mirror, love the lavalamp, like the dried flowers (Don’t tell anyone I do, I only like THESE dried flowers). And I love bananas.

Daqadoodles13_07_03_205822

I still love the lava lamp, it’s fun to watch.

Daqadoodles13_07_03_210023

My “pressing station” and a frame with postcards from French Kissed Postcards, which are in split in new frames now (see previous post Copper Kisses).

Daqadoodles13_07_03_210425 Daqadoodles13_07_03_210426

The pressing station exists of a spare glass plate (for inside a cupboard) with the cardboard from the packaging (I glued a wallpaper sample on it so it looks pretty) and a salt crystal lamp without the lightbulbfitting and wire. (I still need to replace the lightbulb, it’s broken, and therefore the fitting is not in it). Also seen is my card-stand thingy. I found that the light is better if the card is slightly tilted, but ofcourse it won’t stand on it’s own so I made this simple ugly thing. Good thing it’s not visible on pictures. Oh, and the purpose of my pressing station is to reflatten cards or papers. Just put it beneath the glass plate, put the heavy salt lamp back on top and leave for a day or so. Papers come out almost completely flat.

Ofcourse, with all the moving of stuff I’ve done, the pressing station has moved to. Or actually, has been “dismantled”- I still have to find a new spot for it.

This is what is on top of the cupboard now:

One polished and one unpolished ship lantern and a copper telephone.

One polished and one unpolished ship lantern and a copper telephone.

The copper telephone is complete, but I took some parts off to clean it better. It still has to be cleaned more, but it’s ok for now. I love the ship lanterns, although I doubt if they really were used on a ship – I think these were made and meant for in a house. Maybe one day we’ll reinstall the wire and hang them, but for now, I like them on that cupboard.

Happy birthday boy

One more thing I’d like to mention: In my previous post preparations (and a birthdaycard for a 5 year old) I showed the card I made for that boy. We also gave him a toy bus, and at the last moment I decided to add some coins to the card. I don’t like to give money to a child, but I know children love getting money, or coins. Not paper money, but coins they can count. The boy who these gifts were for is lightly autistic, and has a strong opinion about toys he does or doesn’t like. We were told he liked public transport things, hence the bus and the train-themed card.

The toy was very well received, he and his younger brother play in turn with it, they both love it. He was delighted with the coins, counting them several times a day. And the card? He loves it! He even insisted on taking it to school to show his teacher the next day, and later that night was in tears because he couldn’t find the card when he went to bed, and he wanted to take it to bed with him. He had been walking around with it 2 minutes prior to that, so it wasn’t far gone – it was actually lying on a cupboard near his bed.

This moves me. How a child can be happy with simple things like that! I’m so glad I decided to also make  card for him. Usually, when we go to a kids birthday, we only bring a toy, it is not a custom in this part of the Netherlands to also bring a card. You mail a card, bring a gift.

So, it’s half past twelve now (00:30), and the table hasn’t changed much. So here it goes, my first WOYWW.

(Oh, the post isn’t up yet on the blog – I’ll add my entry in the morning!)

And here is how the dining table / crafting area looks now:

Daqadoodles13_10_09_01261

63 thoughts on “WOYWW # 227, my showcase cupboard and a happy boy

  1. Welcome to WOYWW! And thank you for already visiting me🙂
    Love your blog – and your cute kitty (we have a pretty black Molly-cat, she’s 4 years old).
    And lovely to read how you made a little boy’s birthday extra-special – my daughter still has the card her big brother made her years ago – he drew Bart Simpson🙂 A handmade card is always special!
    Lovely to meet you!
    Happy WOYWW and have a fun week🙂
    no. 22

    • Thank you for returning the visit and your comment🙂
      I actually should change the picture, as the cat died on the 30th of December. He was 23, so it was his age. We’ll get a cat again when the kids are a bit bigger, right now, I’d feel very sorry for any cat having to live in an appartment (with no way out) and a toddler and baby.

  2. Oh wow, your work space looks fabulous! I bet there are all sorts of treasuring hiding away in that cupboard! You have some bountiful pieces, that copper telephone and the lanterns are gorgeous! Welcome to WOYWW (this is my third week and I am already addicted!!)
    Kate #54

    • Thank you! Well the dining table is very big, so great to craft on. Although it has to be emptied (enough) for every meal, so mostly I only craft extensively in the evening. During the day it’s mostly only stamping with distress inks, then my son of 2 1/2 can join. I love the copper items too! And as for treasures: I’m sure there are, as I also know I have probably forgotten about some items.

  3. Welcome to WOYWW. It realy is fun. Quite a busy life you live. The coins are a nice idea on a card.
    Monica 26

  4. wow, you did an amazing clean up job. Love the birthday card and little boy story, always so nice to hear when your work has been appreciated that much! LOve the copper telephone too, I would love one of those!
    Debxx

    • Indeed it’s nice to get feedback from the receiver! I noticed sometimes the most enthusiastic feedback is from the younger ones, their mom telling me they went “Ooooooh it’s a One Direction card!” or something like that.

  5. Welcome, welcome, welcome gosh what an interesting post. Love the copper telephone and lanterns, also the lesson regarding gifts and cards, this is didn’t know. Beautiful dining table when it has been cleared and so glad you posted on Wednesday, good for you and hopefully we will see you again and again.

    Happy WOYWW
    Eliza & Yoda 3

    • Thank you! Hehe don’t take it as a lesson, as I am not sure what the “rule” is – etiquette is kind of lost . So don’t take it as a rule, it’s just something I noticed🙂

  6. Don’t worry, I think a lot of us take our photos Tuesday night.🙂 Your copper phone is way cool.

    How wonderful to have your card treasured so. Kids just seem to know when something is truly special.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier and for the kind comments.

    Happy Woyww,

    Sandy #23

  7. Lots of lovely work there! Then to share your showcase spot, very cool! Love the cooper, and the ship lanterns and the PHONE is amazing (the receptionist in me swooned!!) Enjoy the week ahead! Winine#76

    • The lanterns and phone were a fleamarket find! Usually there is a lot of junk (or antique goods which I find too expensive – not that they’re that expensive, it’s just that when I go to a fleamarket I think in a certain price range for itmes, and antique items aren’t the bargains I’m looking for.) But this time there was this standing between stuff🙂

  8. Hi Debbie, and Welcome to WOYWW, it is kind of addictive once you get started. You certainly look to have been busy and I love your sideboard with all those gorgeous copper lanterns and phone. I look forward to visiting you again and seeing what you have been up to. Have a great week and Happy WOYWW! Danie

    • Thank you! I have indeed been busy, and need to be this busy for the next couple of weeks… Wished I had a clock that would let me sleep a few hours extra (and not the rest of the world, otherwise it would be of no use )😛

  9. Hey there! Thank you for visiting my desk and welcome to WOYWW. I love being part of this worldwide circle of friendship…hope you enjoy it too🙂
    I enjoyed seeing around your crafting space and what you’re working on but most of all, I ADORE that copper telephone…it’s gorgeous!!!
    Hugs, LLJ 44 xx

    • I do enjoy it! I try to comment on every blog just this once, but boy is it a task… I might not be able to make it to the end of the list, am at #70 now, 45 to go…

  10. To answer your question, I think you can download some think for free so you can read it on your computer!
    and WOW! what a fab treasure cave of a craft room you have! Love the phone, I’d have to have a whole new room , there’d be no room where I am now! Happy WOYWW
    #36
    (Lyn)

    • haha i wished it was my craft room! In fact, it is the dining and computer room. (It’s the everything but a livingroom, bathroom, bedroom and kitchenroom!)
      I’ll have a look later at the novel, I’m too tired now, it’s clearly past my bedtime!

    • Me too, it always feels like a gamble when getting something for a kid. 1) Doesn’t he allready have it 2) is it appropriate for his age/interest 3) Does he like it?

  11. Hi Debbie
    you have a great looking desk there today for your first time on WOYWW, welcome I hope you enjoy the journey that you have just joined. I can see lots of crafting goodies there for me to poke around . You have some really lovely furniture in your home
    Happy WOYWW and wishing you a great week
    Ria #50

  12. Thanks for visiting I love your copper phone it is so original. You have a wonderful space set up for your crafting.
    Sandra @63

  13. Hi, welcome! Love your display area, and big difference from crafting table to dining room table. I guess the good thing with having to clean up is that it doesn’t become this huge mess like my desk. LOL. Brigita #103

    • Haha indeed! If I wouldn’t have to clean it up, my desk would be my storage area. Not even that, it would just be a pile of things! I’ll be visiting your blog later, working down the list. I am at #87ish now, so still a few blogs to go! (But first, take care of the kids – so commenting will continue in the evening).

  14. Like you, my dining room table is my craft space. I’m lucky because I live alone and don’t actually use my table for eating…… haaaa The cabinet looks like it’s quite handy and right in the same room – now that I envy!

    What a sweet little boy that you made the card for. Kids don’t usually even look at a card, let alone want to take it to school to share. I bet that made your heart sing.

    Thank you for visiting me already!
    Happy WOYWW
    peace, Kay (19)

    • It did🙂 But I found that kids from a certain age do look at cards if it’s a special one, one that is different from all the rest.
      Several criteria for a kid to like a card:
      – it arrived by mail. Kids hardly get post, so they love to get it
      – it is a subject they currently adore. (e.g. trains, trains, or trains. Or maybe Dora, Miffy, Spiderman etc).
      – it has their name and / or picture on it. Now this one isn’t as important as the previous ones ofcourse, but it does help if the whole package relates to them.

  15. Lovely working space Debbie, especially your display area, love the old ships lamps. Welcome to WOYWW too, it’s a lot of fun, if a bit time consuming, lol! Better than working anyway!

    Hugs
    Brenda 1

    • It’s a phone from 1940/1960. (I can’t remember exactly) – it’s not working ofcourse! The copper ones are deemed less valuable then the bakelite ones, apparantly the phones used to be painted black first, and later people iliked the shine of the copper so the copper was enhanced / painting was left behind or removed. I’ve looked up information about it, but my mind is like a seeve sometimes – I see information, read it, remember it for a short time, and then it’s gone😛. I mostly remember I have seen it somewhere, so that it is findable.

  16. Sorry I am late visiting, and how lovely to read all about your crafting space and I must admit, that is some transformation from craftiness to dining table!!🙂 Lovely cards and how heartwarming to know your card was so treasured by the little boy. Annette #7

  17. Hi Debbie,
    Thanks for visiting me, sorry I’m so long getting back.
    Welcome to WOYWW, and your work place seems very active, shame you need to clear away for meals.
    Love your cat too, what’s his/her name?
    Chris #69

    • No problem! Yes it can be annoying to clear away for meals, on the other hand, if I wouldn’t have to, the place would really be a mess in no time. The cat’s name is Charlie, but he was put to sleep at the age of 23 last December.

  18. You have a fascinating wall! Love the phone and lanterns. I used to use our dining table when I first started. Thanks for visiting and happy belated WOYWW!
    Carol N #91

    • Hehe yes I still have to make a post about that frame on the wall with all the projects on it (yup, those are all unfinished cards!) Thank you for returning the visit!

  19. Great workspace to share with us all. Draught excluders – a long thin sausage shaped cushion to place at bottom of door to block cold draughts – I will blog the finished articles next week! – Jo

  20. I read your comment on my blog — yep, I KNOW I’m going to find some more stamps as some of my favorites are missing. I’m worried that I’ll have to make an adjustment for them!!!

    Peace,
    Kay

    • No space anymore for a box somewhere? (It’s a bad habit of me to put stuff together in boxes when I’m working on a project, things (like stamps) can get scattered over different boxes if I don’t put them in the right place in time!

  21. Welcome and thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m running way behind, weather is still good and helping hubby finish up the fields. You asked about the little worn red shed on one of my photos…It was a gift from an old neighbor, clearing out his acreage…so I use it as a garden shed and storage for winter of our outside lawn items. Love all your photos..lots of storage really like the little creation in the top photo that you are Mod Podging! Have a great weekend

    • I think there is a misunderstanding, as I don’t think anything coud fit in there! It looked more likea minature shed? (The big one is nice too, but the little one is cute!) Thank you for your comment!

  22. HI Daqa thank you for your visit. I love reading comments on my blog. I love your space such beautiful items. I really love your card stand. I need something like that. You should put a how-to tutorial up on how to make one.

    I have that same salt lamp. Do you have problems with it when it is hot and humid? Our melts. But I can’t get rid of it because I like it so much.

    Have a beautiful day!
    Belinda (8)

    • Thank you for your visit and comment! I too love comments, it’s a small present – someone having taken the time to read (or glance over, I’m fine with that too as I can write long posts) and then comment on it.
      The card stand is a very simple thing, made out of annoyance that my card kept falling over or that it was stanting too straight up for a nice picture.

      I can’t remember I had problems with the salt lamp, it can be hot and humid here (The Netherlands) but maybe less then in other areas? Also, I don’t handle the lamp that often (as the light is broken), so I might not have noticed it melting🙂

  23. Sorry to be such a late visitor this week, internet problems. Anyway made it at last. Welcome to WOYWW it’s great to see you. You’ll be totally addicted now so be warned!!
    What an amazing space you have, every desk should have a cuttlebug in action, my fav tool of all time!!

    • Late visitors are welcome too! No need to apologize, it’s hard work visiting the blogs. I’m not sure if I’ll manage to participate every week, but every other week should be doable🙂

  24. Thanks for the look around. Love your black kitty. My ‘girls’ say Hi. Thanks for the earlier visit! Happy WOYWW! Nan G #14 running a bit late like a certain rabbit🙂

  25. Welcome- it’s always wednesday somewhere!
    all work and no play…..
    Thanks for visiting and the snoop around
    robyn 6

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

