Home » Cards » Bird in the sky, up up you fly

Bird in the sky, up up you fly

This card is made on a wallpaper sample. The Die-cut is a swallow from ranger (I think) – I haven’t used it much, as somehow this image reminds me of a soul leaving the earth. I kind of associate it with a sympathy card. I didn’t intend to make one, that is why I left the blue bit empty, I want to add the sentiment later. (with a label on the blue, but I think i’s prettier if I print or stamp on tissue paper and decoupage it on the blue card, you won’t see the tissue paper but will see the stamp). But I guess a sympathy card is the best fit.

Daqadoodles13_07_17_211068

The swallow flies up out of the bushes, up up in the sky, to be free. It has a vintage touch to it, due to the colour use. The two lines at the top are inked too, to add just a bit more sky-ness.

The raindrops are from design by Ryn, and the branches with leaves are from the Joy!crafts vintage flourishes serie as is the swirl. Before cutting it out I coloured the paper with different shades of distress ink (with the acrylbloc technique). after diecutting I stamped on the leaves with another stamp in blue. (I forgot which one). It wasn’t really needed though, as it’s hardly visible. Before gluing the branches in place I tried slightly colouring the area behind it, as I wanted it to look like bushes rather then just branches.

Daqadoodles13_07_17_211170

The dry embossing is done with the M-bossabilities folder twigs and tweets. (My only machine is a Cuttlebug)

Heat embossing is done with shabby shutter, on the swallow. Next I darkened some bits, and stamped with embossing ink on it and embossed it with rangers embossing powder Stream.

Daqadoodles13_08_06_0005109

A simple card (for me, at least) which I don’t particularly like. The reason is that the card makes me a little sad, it somehow oozes melancholy, or sadness. (Instead of comfort or a spring rain shower or autumn). On the other hand, it’s also kind of calm, spiritual.

Daqadoodles13_07_17_211171

What would you use this card for? For which occasion?

Challenges

I’d like to enter this card into the following challenges:

15 thoughts on “Bird in the sky, up up you fly

  1. It’s a beautiful card just as it is and it would be a shame to cover the lovely embossed panel. Thanks for playing along at Cuttlebug Mania this time x

  2. It’s a beautiful card, I too, think it’s spiritual🙂

    Thank you for playing along with us over at Emma’s Crafty Challenge…Good luck!🙂

  3. Hey Debbie, I can definitely see what you mean about it being a great sympathy card (especially with the Raindrops being like teardrops) but I wouldn’t have thought of that on my own. It reminds me of spring and of new growth. Nice matching of the subtle birds in the blue square with the theme of the card.

    • It could indeed also be a spring card, my initial idea was something along the lines of fresh bushes, rainshower and a bird flying up from it, but the colours are a bit vintage-like, so not the fresh green of spring.

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

