Home » Algemeen / other » 1D – One thing

1D – One thing

To get in the mood of the card (or what I was listening to while making this card, click here for the music. (opens in new tab/window)

Daqadoodles13_05_31_233725

1D….. eh, what’s that?

1D, no I don’t mean 1 dimensional, 1 point. I mean One Direction. Do you know them? Well, up untill this christmas I didn’t. But my neece is, she knows their birthdates, probably where they were born, saved up to go to a show (she’s 14 now), made a T-shirt for her dad (who went to London) which said: “1D, marry my daughter”. So she kind of likes them.

Her birthday was coming up, and I try to make a card that appeals to the receiver. At first I thought, hmmm 14. A card with glitter. Maybe black, red and glitter. A glamorous card. She’d like that, I bet. But then I thought of the subject, rather then style, and I thought of 1D. That would definitely appeal to her! And I will base it on a song. I had no clue which song to pick, so I chose their latest single: One Thing.

Lyrics of the song One Thing by One Direction. Screenshots of the website of One Direction.

Lyrics of the song One Thing by One Direction.
Screenshots of the website of One Direction.

I noticed while looking for a song that their website didn’t really match the style I had in mind. It is a bit of a doodle-while-at-school style. Or a school style. So I put their website on my screen and sat down at the table, regularly checking the screen for style and inspiration.

The lyrics of the song didn’t provide much help for a card either. I didn’t want all hearts, that didn’t fit the style of 1D, but it did fit my neece. So I made hearts.

Sound simple, right? Wrong. I scouted the internet for a photoshop or paint.net brush in the shape of a heart. Finally found one looking a bit grungy, the look I wanted for the heart. I can’t recall the name of the set anymore though.

Before (or after) I made the hearts I looked for a font in the 1D style, I wanted to add a line of the song to the card, something that could be applicable to my neece. I settled on “You’ve got that one thing”. But it needed a background. (Ah yes, now I remember, I needed the hearts for background to the text!)

I digitally stamped the hearts, and moved them around behind the text, to get a complete background behind the text and so that it would still be readable, and no hearts cut off at strange spots.

In the lyrics they mention kryptonite, so I thought it would be cool to use that as the filling of the hearts – the kryptonite that makes their hearts weak. Making that kryptonite was not a very short process: finding an image, applying it to the insides of the hearts, adjusting colours, adding sparkles, testprinting, adjusting colours etc.

I was wondering what I had gotten myself into. It was just one line and a few hearts, I still had a whole card to go!Daqadoodles13_05_31_233827

I relied on my previous idea for her card, and settled for a red background and black on top. I searched my stamps, punches and embossing folders for suitable items and gathered them around me, then it came to selecting the ones that fit most.

After selecting, searching for stamppads, cutting out and rearranging stuff I was almost done. But not quite. I had put the white piece of paper in the middle, but it didn’t seem right. So I moved it to the bottom.

Now, what to do with all that black. It’s very black. And unbalanced against the rest. You know what? It’s a schooltheme, like doodles in your schoolnotes. So why not write something? Also something to explain the green hearts, in case she doesn’t know what kryptonite is. (You never know, she’s another generation that has not been into superman like we have). I wrote that one sentence. Then I decided to just full it up with lines, and first wrote the right side and then the left side, not trying to do it particularly neat as I know I’d mess up if I tried. My handwriting is not very pretty or constant. I was happy with how it turned out – how the writing fit the card, and how the card looked in total and how it matched the style of the site of One Direction.

 

Does my card match with the site?

Does my card match with the site?

Challenge entry

I’d like to enter this card in the challenge of Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge: Anything goes. (ends around 7th of July).

My used items list:

  • The ticket stamp from Christina Renee
  • Table from Christina Renee
  • Plane is – I think – from Kars. Or cArt-Us?
  • Die-cuts clouds are Joy!crafts 6002 / 0199,
  • The embossed stamptexture on it is made with stamps from Christina REnee
  • The stars are from a punch.
  • The letterstamps are from Hero Arts,
  • the round stamp with the yellow from Christina Renee.
  • The stamp and diecut of the poststamp from Whimsy Stamps: Mini Postage die WSD106 and Adventure Mini postage stamps 10038
  • Embossing folder Tim Holtz alterations 656649 Dot-Matrix & Gridlock
  • Washi tape (from the HEMA)
  • Embossing powder Stream from Ranger, distress inks from ranger, Hero Arts shadow ink Pool and Soft Pool, clear embossing powder, a gel pen, glue, a printer, scissors and a cuttingknife.

Daqadoodles13_05_31_233828

Conclusion

I do like the card, although it was out of my comfort zone and I won’t make something like it again unless it fits someone’s style. I just like distressed cards, nature, fairies, fantasy etc. lots more.

The best? She really liked the card!! She sent me a message to thank me, but I also heard from my sister she really liked it when she opened the envelop. So not just a thanks out of politeness.

Goal accomplished, a card that is liked by a teenager!

2 thoughts on “1D – One thing

  1. I love that you made a card perfect for her and it is lovely! I always struggle to make one that is perfect for that age and yours is perfect. Thanks for playing along with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show.

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

