Home » Cards » Spring and rarely used or hard to use stash

Spring and rarely used or hard to use stash

This is a card I made a while ago. It is a strange card. I don’t praticularly like or dislike it. It seems there is something missing and there is too much. But at the same time, it’s good. I guess it just needed the right occasion, and the right occasion came up🙂.Daqadoodles13_05_07_164811

I’ve had this embossing folder since I got my Cuttlebug, I thought it would be a great folder. But I’ve never managed to use it – I just can’t seem to make cards with this folder. This card has started out as a project to use that folder. Once in a while I tell myself I have to go make something with something I’ve had for a while (like unused inked/stamped die-cuts or hardly used tools, or coloured or patterened paper like the green cardstock in the card below), which can be a frustrating challenge and brings me out of my comfort zone. Or rather, it brings me in my messy and not-quite-right zone. Like this card. I wanted it to be fresh, with spring colours, happy, joyful.

The dancing group is the joyful part, they’re ok. I love the banner with “spring” on it (lente) – I love those colours! I think what would have been better for this card is a different background, not the green (but I still have so much of that green!!) and something different with the treebranches.Daqadoodles13_05_10_15265

Still, it was a happy, good humoured, light card. I just didn’t know what to do with a card that said spring and is a bit… cheesy? But, as said before, the right occasion came by. I had set myself the goal of sending a card every week to a friend who needed it, and when FINALLY a bit of spring showed up I sent her this one. (Although the day of sending and arriving was very rainy and cold and not springlike at all.) It still feels like spring here. Maybe our calender raced forward while nature took it slow?

Daqadoodles13_05_07_16506 Daqadoodles13_05_07_16498 Daqadoodles13_05_07_16497 Daqadoodles13_05_07_16499 Daqadoodles13_05_07_16461

Last thing I want to show you is some nice background papers I made (I think on the pink cardstock). Don’t they look interesting? I just love blending colours! So I’ve made this about..more then 2 months ago, and still haven’t used the backgrounds, haha! I just don’t know what to do with them just yet. Probably the first three are suitable for a card, and the last one will be teard up to be used in pieces. I’ve got another order from Chocolate Baroque stamps coming in soon, and the stamps from Designs by Ryn are awesome as well, I bet I can work something out with those stamps and these backgrounds.

One last question: Do you have any suggestions on how to use the green and pink cardstock for cards? What are the materials you have but find hard to use in a project?

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

