Home » Cards » You are the best

You are the best

You are the best

You are the best

Quite a simple card, but one that needed to be made. One of my best friends got seriously ill. She lives 3 hrs away now so I can’t visit her easily. At that time she couldn’t have visitors, but I felt so powerless, so far away. And I was so thankfull for her partner! He’s such a great guy. I can’t imagine how it would have been if she didn’t have him. I still get teary eyes when thinking about it. I wanted to thank him, although I’ve spoken to him on the phone and told him my appreciation, that wasn’t enough. I had made cards for my friend, but he too deserved a card. Words can’t describe how grateful I am that he is her partner. This stamp came close though.

I always find it hard to make masculine cards, as I don’t think every card for a man should involve transportation or beer or sex. They can have flowers and “emotional/delicate” stuff too. It’s just how you present it. I didn’t want to add too much, wanted to keep it quite simple with just a few accents, and “male” colours. I couldn’t add more to it. This was it. Any more, and the message would be lost. He’s the flower, she’s the butterfly, they belong together. He calls her to him, she, fragile and sensitive, shining beautiful. He is her anchor, the light for her to focus on.

I’m glad to say she has recovered mostly now, and I’m going to visit her soon. I do miss her – face to face friendships are so so valuable!

The main part if this card is a Hero arts stamp. Other materials used are a Cheery Lynn die cut Celtic Frame (the inner circle) and I think the other one is Marianne Design. The shape around the card was made with shaped scissors.

DSC_7679

I’d like to enter this card in the following challenges:

The link to leave a comment is at the start of the post, but for your convenience you can also click here to comment. (Only your name is required to comment, however when you leave your website/blog adress I can visit you as well.)

8 thoughts on “You are the best

  1. Thank you for the lovely story behind your fabulous card. I think you have fit our challenge perfectly as although this man is not, as it were, yours, he is important because he has made your friend’s life and her illness easier to handle. It sounds as if he well deserved this gorgeous creation.

    Thanks for sharing with us

    Lin xx
    Crafty Cardmakers

  2. Beautiful card – I enjoyed reading your story about it! I agree – I also struggle with masculine cards – they are not easy to make – I am sure yours will be very much appreciated!

    Thank you so much for entering Simply Create Too’s challenge! I hope you will play again in the upcoming challenges!
    Cornelia – Simply Create Too Design Team Member
    http://simplycreatetoo.blogspot.com/

  3. Thank you sharing the story behind your card, it really is perfect for our challenge and I’m sure your friend’s partner will appreaciate it. I agree with you about masculine cards. I love the thought behind the flower and butterfly, what a wonderful allegory.

  4. Very pretty design really like the Butterfly thanks for joining us this week at Panpastel uk challenge blog.

    Kerry

  5. Great card I love the uncluttered design, with the pretty die cut. I do like your take on masculine cards too!

  6. Great card I love the uncluttered design, with the pretty die cut. I do like your take on masculine cards too!

    Thanks for joining us at Crafty Cardmakers!

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

