Home » Cards » Un Dimanche á la Mer

Un Dimanche á la Mer

Daqadoodles13_06_03_20571

When I saw the new challenge for “We love Vintage” I knew immediately which image I was going to use. Finally! 5055 Trains de plaisir – Un Dimanche à la Mer – LL from French Kissed Postcards. I always liked it, but never used it before. I don’t usually make vintage cards, as I try to give my cards a more masculine look, or more steampunk. So this was new for me.

The colours I wanted to use were yellow, blue and pink. Now when I say it like that, it doesn’t sound like appropriate colours! Don’t worry, here’s the full names of the Distress inks: Shattered Straw, Tattered Rose and Tumbled Glass.

The paper I used was off white, white and yellow. The yellow paper is the middle layer of the card, with the tattered rose edges and Tumbled Glass and Broken China “inner edge” (to define the paper on top more), and the Joy Craft cutting and embossing die 6002/0036. On that I used Mustard Seed, Scattered Straw, Shabby Shutters and Tattered rose on. I embossed it with shabby shutters distress embossing powder and Rangers Queens Gold embossing powder.

Decooupage glue on the image for a painted look

Decooupage glue on the image for a painted look

The top layer paper was off white, and the top half I made blue with Tumbled Glass (and maybe a bit of Broken China, can’t remember exactly) and on the bottom I used Scattered Straw and Old Paper.

The background

Too bad I didn’t take a picture of it before gluing it all together, as that background paper turned out pretty nice. I stamped the small sun from Stampinback (Zonnestralen B649) on it with Versafine grey, and the big sun from Stampinback (Zonnestralen B721) with Memento Toffee Crunch. I used Ranger Embossing ink on the edges, applied it with my finger and then pourded Queens Gold on it. The Memento ink wasn’t completely dry yet, so it stuck to bits of the sunray as well, which I liked.

The image

The image I printed on white 180grams printing paper and tore off the sides of the image. I inked them with tumbled glass and shattered straw, glued it in place and added some Mod Podge decoupage glue on top of it and made swirling movements with my brush to give it a varnished – painted look.

The flowers

I cut out the flowers with the Marianne Design cutting die LR0257, the big one 2 times and the smaller ones 5 times. I stamped the cutout with a branch/flower stamp from Christina Renee set Nr. 5 (850043) with Hero Arts Shadow ink Soft Pool.  I inked the edges with the either shattered straw distress ink of tumbled glass, and some of the hearts of the flouwers with broken china. I rolled them using a filigree tool, and rolled the upper big flower from the ouside to the inside, so the small leaves are outside. The other flower I rolled the other way. I moved the filigree tool to the top of the paper (still holding in the middle), put a dot of glue from the glue gun down, pushed the flower down and uncurled it a bit with the tool. While the tool was still in the flower I bent the leaves down and flat a bit, trying to make sure it wasn’t too orderly. Later I added some pearl beads, whcih I later also used on the lower right corner of the card.

The twine (or yarn?)

I don’t know the difference, I would even almost call it rope! Anyway, I wanted a beachy thing to it, so I added the twine in the off white colour. When in coils it remined me of seashells, so the pearls had to go there!

Done!

Hmm well no. I should use some lace. But I don’t have lace! I do have a lace stamp (from Christina Renee), so I stamped it on tissue paper and decoupaged it to the left side of the card. Unfortunately the ink I used wasn’t suitable: Hero Arts Shadow ink was too oily, so the details was lost. Also, the colour was too light, it’s hardly visible (though if you look closely you can still see it). So I searched around untill I finally found a bit of lace, it was a ribbon of 5 cm wide so I cut off only the edge.

All in all I don’t think I did very bad, it has got the vintage elements, but it’s still a card made by me.

If you made it this far, thank you for reading!

With this card I would like to enter the following challenges:

The card in different lighting

The card in different lighting

To the DT from Simon Says Stamp: That is a lot of work you must do! With my entry, it will be 974!!!! entries! That would take about (with 1 minute per blog) at least 16 hrs and 15 minutes. Few. I hope you don’t have to do that often. And I do understand if you don’t leave a comment, haha!

Thank you all for visiting!

The link to leave a comment is at the start of the post, but for your convenience you can also click here to comment. (Only your name is required to comment, however when you leave your website/blog adress I can visit you as well.)

26 thoughts on “Un Dimanche á la Mer

  1. Hi ~ Thank you for entering your lovely card in my Lunagirl Moonbeams blog challenge! I love your colors of yellow and blue and white — they are the colors of a sunny day at the beach. I also especially like your gold sunrays and the rope and pearls. Great image, too!

    • Haha I haden’t seen it yet, untill you pointed it out! Thank you for sharing on facebook! I might just use more digital images this way. I am always a bit uncomfortable with them, as I feel it can limit my creativity, but I think I can “handle” them now.
      (funnily ehough thouh, when I make complete digital cards it doesn’t matter…)

  2. Hoi Debbie, wat een ontzettend grappig plaatje is dit toch en helemaal passend bij ons zomerse onderwerp bij WLVC. Superleuke kaart en fijn dat je meedoet. Je gaf aan dat je niet weet hoe te gaan volgen maar je kunt gewoon bij de volgers aanmelden hoor. Ook al heb je geen blog dan nog is er een mogelijkheid om daar bij te komen staan. Heb je ook geen google-account? of als het helemaal niet lukt dan maar anoniem gaan volgen……probeer maar even iets. Ik zie wel of het is gelukt.
    Lieve groetjes Plony (WLVC)

  3. What a wonderful card – the central image is simply gorgeous, and I love the gilding and how you’ve used the twine as a partial frame. The flowers are lovely too… Thanks so much for your comment – and yes, I think you’re right about the Nick Cave/Kylie Minogue song. I don’t really know much about him either; it’s Ute Lemper that I love!
    Alison xx

    • Yhank you! I was very pleased with the gilding too, didn’t thinkg it would have that much effect. (And then I hid it mostly – but I am sure going to use it more in this way!)

  4. A really super Vintage image and complemented so well with the lace.

    Thanks so much for joining our ‘Summer Blooms’ theme at Stamping Sensations challenge.

    B x

  5. What a lovely card, so beautifully embellished! Thanks for joining us at Stamping Sensations.
    Pinky

  6. Hi Debbie, thanks for leaving me the comment regarding Google Reader, I’ve put the link in now, doh!

    This is a beautiful project. You might want to enter it into the Country View Challenges ‘Die cuts’ challenge this month…?

    Have a great weekend. Chris xxx

  7. great card , thanks for joining us at Stamping sensatons this month and good luck!

    Hugs
    Francesca

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

