Home » Algemeen / other » Waiting for a new arrival

Waiting for a new arrival

This is a card I made for a friend who is pregnant with her 2nd child.

The mystery of new life

The mystery of new life

About the card

I am quite pleased with the card. They don’t know (yet) if it’s going to be another boy or a girl (they allready have a son), so I wanted to make the card neutral. Not too girly. Ofcourse it is girly though, as I mainly adressed it to my friend, the pregnant one😉. On the left side of the card I used blue as background, on the left it’s pink. In the middle it’s yellow, where the sun is heating the birdhouse.

The branch on the right has berries, food for growing. It was made of two layers of the same diecut (brown and green), where I trimmed the 2nd layer at the stem-end, to make it more spring like and give it even more depth. I also added distress embossing powder and used a perlen pen (kiwi). There are more suns behind the embossed flowers and branch to make the card more bright and not completely like a scenery. The grass just fits the season (spring). I had the backgroundpaper cut out allready before I maded the card, I quite likted the bees and the flowers, like “birds and the bees” – hence I also wanted a bird on the card.

The silhouette lady is made of a wallpaper sample – I should go to hardware stores soon again, as I liked the textures of the wallpapers, I should use them more often! The lady reminded me of my friend, and I positioned her thus that she is looking athe birdnest. The bird on the branch announcing the news (or my congratulations), and the birdnest symbolizing the womb in which the foetus grows. The baby can’t be seen yet, but it is growing. I hope she likes the card!

With this card I’d like to enter the following challenges:

Materials used

    • Paper: plain cardstock; Joy! Crafts linen cardstock set; wallpaper sample; Marianne Design Sweet papers PL9065;
    • Embossing folder: Craft Concepts Florette; Sizzix Texture Fades Dot-Matrix;
    • Die-cuts: Joy! Crafts Vintage Flourishes 6002/0137; Marianne Design LR0257, LR0206;LR0211;
    • Stamps: Stampinback sunrays large B721 and small B649
    • Inkt & pens: Rangers distress ink (probably tattered rose, tumbled glass and scattered straw; festive berries, victorian velvet, broken china, peacock feathers, forest moss); Viva Decor perlen pen 705 kiwi; Viva decor Gloss gel pen 402 Carmine Red; Distress powder Shabby shutters, tsukineko galaxy gold;

Thank you for visiting!

The link to leave a comment is at the start of the post, but for your convenience you can also click here to comment. (Only your name is required to comment, however when you leave your website/blog adress I can visit you as well.)

7 thoughts on “Waiting for a new arrival

  1. Hi Debbie, thanks for visiting my blog and your nice comment! i have blog moderation on, that’s why the comment does not show….. Unfortunately its necessary…. the drops are indeed a rubber stamp – I liked the website on my blog. the girl who created them is really nice and i like to order from her… (but then I like to order from everybody – LOL!)

    I like your blog – looked around a bit – love that cake with the elephant and you have really cute kids!

    • Hi Cornelia! The blog moderation wasn’t the problem, it was the submitting part, it gives an “ID-error”. I have it a lot with my open id, it’s even worse when wordverification is on, I have to try several times before it says my comment is submitted. I was allready glad you didn’t have wordverification on!
      I’ve allready checked out the store and have a cartload of stamps in my shopping cart. Unfortunately it’s going to stay that way a bit, I allready spent my crafting budget for may😛. I have lots of full shopping carts at lots of places, just soooooo many pretty and fun things for crafting!
      Thanks for the compliments about my blog, cake and kids!

  2. Hi Debbie, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such an enthusiastic comment! You made my day! I also have the total stamp addiction – I always want everything, but I can’t do that – like you I have wishlists and shopping cards everywhere….And like you my handwriting sucks😦 – that’s why I buy a lot of sentiment stamps – you get a lot of bang for the buck and then you can play in many challenges, because most require you to have on ly one stamp of their company……
    Have a good night!

  3. Such a very pretty card Debbie and it’s great to see you at Stamping Sensations challenge, thank you so much joining us.

    B x

  4. Thank you for sharing your fabby project with the DT from PanPastel UK, love your new beginning for your friend. Hugs Terry xxx

  5. Hi Debbie, wat heb je een heerlijk berichtje op mijn blog achtergelaten! Ik ben er helemaal blij door geworden! Sorry(LOL) dat ik niet goed voor je portemonnee ben maar heerlijk dat je zo enthousiast bent. Hebben we elkaar wel eens ontmoet? ik heb ff door je blog zitten scrollen en wat een heerlijke kindern heb je! Ik heb er zelf nog 1 van 7 en het is best pittig maar geeft ook veel. Ik ga eens kijken of je emailadres hier ergens staat dan stuur ik je een mailtje anders wordt dit bericht zoooo lang!
    Hartegroet, Miranda

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

