Home » Cards » Time flies and a good year of construction

Time flies and a good year of construction

These two cards I’ve made as birthday cards for men.

DSC_7619

The first card, “Time Flies”, was made for someone who turned 43, although he said on his invitational e-mail 34. That is why I chose the time flies stamp, and set the time at 16:43 (or at least, that was my intention). Often, when going for a masculine card, the colours get dark and all brown. At least my masculine cards tend to have only brown, creme and black as colours, see the next card for an example. I made the “Time Flies” card last. I wanted to add colour, to keep it light, but not make it very girly. Also, I wondered why usually flowers are seen as for females only – men enjoy flowers too!

All in all I’m very pleased with this card.

Materials/products used:
(if something is not listed then I don’t know the manufacturer/brand of the item or it is “brandless”, like the paper).

  • Ranger’s distress ink, colours seem to be rusty hinge, moss, peackock feathers, festive berry, pumice stone.
  • Stazon Jet black
  • Stampinback stamp “Time Flies”
  • Cart-us stamp: watch & plane
  • Sizzix Tim Holtz Alterations Sizzlits Decorative Strip Mini Paper Rosettes (2 sizes)
  • embossing folder Sizzix Tim Holtz Alteration

 Daqadoodles13_01_31_00221

This card was made for my father in law. “Een goed bouwjaar” means: “a good year for construction”

When I look at the card now it’s a bit boring, too much brown and sandcolour.

Materials/products (I write down the names from memory, the actual names might be slightly different):

  • Le tres chic cardstock matstack
  • Craft Concepts embossing folder Hexagon Illusion
  • Distress ink photo vintage
  • Stazon Jet Black
  • Stampinback stamps: Ford, Een goed bouwjaar, Oldtimer, track
  • Cart-us stamp: airplaine
  • Crafty Individuals: CI 159 Boys Toys
The link to leave a comment is at the start of the post, but for your convenience you can also click here to comment. (Only your name is required to comment, however when you leave your website/blog adress I can visit you as well.)

3 thoughts on “Time flies and a good year of construction

  1. Hey Debbie, Thanks for finding me and for leaving such a nice comment on my blog🙂 I’m glad yours was listed so I could get back to you and check our what you do. Love the texture in the first card of this post and that cake transformation was really creatively done. Looked tasty too… Please do keep in touch. Ttys🙂 Ryn

  2. Thank you for your long and thoughtful comment, and yes, we definitely agree over having followers who really mean it. I came by to return the visit and immediately remembered that beautiful vintage seaside card of yours. And here are two more beauties – I particularly like the folded texture on that first one. So I have made sure I’m following now – liking what I find here!

    Oh, and it will be very a old-fashioned draw, writing out the names and putting them in a hat!
    Alison x

    • Thank you! That is such a huge compliment, for someone with your skills to follow me! Every project of yours is just stunning. Maybe one day my failures will be less then my successes, haha! I’ve got quite a stack of cards that started out great but somewhere along the way I did something that instantly ruined them. It’s all part of the learning process, I know, so I keep them as reminders!

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

