Home » Cards » CPS Grand Challenge – cards, leftovers and workspace

CPS Grand Challenge – cards, leftovers and workspace

Here is a quick roundup of all daily sketches + my cards. Click on the image of the card to go to the blogpost of that card. Beneath the cards you’ll see some wonderfull leftovers that didn’t make it onto or into a card yet, and some tools which I have become to love.

Day 1: Sketch #136 – Space pirates:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 2, sketch #166 – Oriental Cabinet:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 3, sketch #54 – Piraat Ahoy:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 4, sketch #220 – A Little Bird Told Me:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 5, sketch #38 – A Fairy Birthday:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 6, sketch #37 -Hidden jewels long forgotten:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 7, sketch #242 – Enjoy the renovation:

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 8, sketch #102 – Remember the love:

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 9, sketch #5 – You light up my life:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 10, sketch #26 – Sparkle sparkle:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 11, sketch #170 – Full of words:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 12, sketch #118 – Rusted Elegance:

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 13, sketch #121 – Flowers in the Field:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 14, sketch #45 – India Inspiration:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Day 15, sketch #231 – Dear Cynthia:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

My scraps

Not all items here are scraps from CPS – the birds in the upper left I made about a month ago, sort of birds flying out of the egg toward freedom. The sheet around the egg looks elegant and pretty, but at places is torn and you can see a rotten world behind it. It became a bit too dark/moody themed. Maybe I’ll use it and finish it another day.

The butterflycard next to it was made for Day 10, sketch #26 – Sparkle sparkle, but it’s quite big and I loved it very much, I didn’t want to cut it or see it covered! it is only the sheet of paper you see, so I only would need to add some folded cardstock to make a proper card from it. It doesn’t need much else. (It’s a bit brighter in reality). The card next to that one was made also in the beginning of cardmaking, with the use of wallpaper and some bunting and balloons of wallpaper. The bunting is only attached in the corners. Seeing it now I think it’s too basic – there is a reason I didn’t use it anymore, the shapes don’t match and there are too many different colours. The embossed and colored bookpage egg next to it is still very usable.

Now we get to the trees and fences of Day 11, sketch #170 – Full of words. See how the fences are too big? And the flowers on it, I’m not sure if I like how it turned out.

The little pieces in the middle: the hardware findings from Tim Holtz & the rusty hexagon, embossed, and then painted the hardware findings with crackle paint (it didn’t crackle very well, the paper just bends), for Day 12, sketch #118 – Rusted Elegance.

And there are my diamond background cards! I still love em. Made for Day 13, sketch #121 – Flowers in the Field.

The India images – with colours that don’t match and trying out embossing with powder. The paper lady silhouette – the edge of the text was wrong, so I cut her out again. The red cars from wallpaper: cut out with the wrong side of the wallpaper down.

The Cameo Silhouette background stamps (the blue and grey) – for Rusted Elegance.

The daffodils I cut off before they were completely withered, they are dry now and waiting to be used.

My sketch book – I drew the designs there roughly to have at hand. Below my medium size scraps-box, and on the left my small size scraps-box. It’s not very clearly visible, but there is an art deco image on top there, I had this folder of a museum and glued it onto cardstock and cut these shapes out. I got a few that could be used for 2 or 3 matching cards.

Oh and my big sized cup of tea – usually cold when I was halfway, because I had forgotten about it.

The lantern background was too pretty to cut up – I made another one for Day 9, sketch #5 – You light up my life. Does that happen to you too that you make something, intended to be cut up/out, and then don’t do it because you think it’s too pretty like it is?

The clocks and tea card – I had this new stampset (Pixie Glade) and wanted to try it out. I loved this result! I intended it to be some kind of background. But I really couldn’t get myself to cover it up, haha. Only like this it’s a bit too… I don’t know, background like? What should I do with it?

The right side card was from my fungus and old forgotten wallpaper period. I’ve played lots of computer games, and often the scenery is that of beauty that has perished, or became dirty because of the zombies that have roamed the place for a time. (Or something like that). I think this card should go to a gamer. I should add a zombie onto it, and a crowbar. Or a wooden board with a nail in it. (In many survival games you start out with either one of these as weapons.)

The hearts were made for a challenge for a dutch challenge blog (elke kaart een feestje), made with acryllic paint. I do like the shabbyness of the hearts. I eventually made this one:

The white paper with the pink circles is the remains of the circle from the Day 2, sketch #166 – Oriental Cabinet. I do like the remaining circle, but ofcourse this is very hard to use as it’s so big. Beneath that is cream cardstock woven with patterned paper – there are cats on it. No use for it yet. The strip with the cut out butterfly: I liked the background, so I tried to cut precisely as I coud use this as a silhouette.

You probably have noticed that spray thingy on the table, I have mentioned it before, it’s from Ikea. I can’t find it anymore so I guess it’s out of their collection (it’s about 10years old? Can’t remember when I bought it).

I love it to spray my background paper with. And doesn’t it look cute too?

Another one of my much appreciated items is this:

It’s actually from a kids cooking play set, but recently I found it again and it is very very usefull as a table-bin! I can’t put a bin on the floor as my son will pull it over and rummage through it whenever he gets the chance. I also am very carefull with snippets of paper – he is in the age that he puts everything in his mouth. He has eaten some paper yet, sometimes he gets hold of a sheet of printing paper, letter or ads and I am too slow to prevent him from putting it in his mouth. That is very thin paper which I often can’t get out again. Well, I am a bit more carefull doing that now as once I scratched his … eh.. gehemelte… the top of the inside of his mouth. That hurts ofcourse. So now if I can’t get it out right away I let him swallow it, usually it’s only a tiny piece which is soaked allready.

Ofcourse there are more tools that I use and love, but these are the most uncommon ones I think. The others are tools many people have: Ink blending tool, sponges, brushes, cutting knife, sciccors, guided cuttingthing, cutting board, ruler etc.

Oh, one other thing I forgot: My cleaning-cloth! It’s a basic yellow one, it was old and stained, but that’s perfect for me! That, in combination with my perfumespraycan without perfume makes it easy to clean stamps on the spot. It saves me lots of time having to wash all stamps after crafting or having to get up all the time to rinse them. For less deep stamps it is enough to spray a little bit of water on and wipe off with the cloth, for deep stamps where the ink really gets into then I have to spray some more, like a high pressure water device squirting all ink out. The cloth is behind it then ofcourse to catch excess water and wipe the stamp dry. Then, another use for the cloths is when I have sprayed water on my distressed papers I gently dab the cloth on the paper to absorb the water right away, this prevents the paper from becoming too wet or the drops too big.

Do you have leftovers which you love? Do you also have a hard time cutting/hiding parts of “resources” for cards you made, like me with the background tea and clocks and the Hero Arts nature frame and butterfly? What are your beautifull scraps that never get used?

One thought on “CPS Grand Challenge – cards, leftovers and workspace

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

