Home » Cards » Flowers in the field

Flowers in the field

Sunflower yellow and graincircles, banana and chocolate..

My card is based on CPS sketch # 121:

CPS#121

I always loved this stamp but didn’t use it that much yet. Now I did🙂 I initially made this 2-part image for CPS sketch nr. 170, day 11 but didn’t think it fit there. I am glad I could use it for this sketch though!

With this card I’d like to partcipate in the following challenge:

How I made it

First I made the background for the flower, with Rangers distress colours Scattered Straw, Mustard Seed and Shabby Shutters. I used the Scattered Straw also on the edges and on the little flowers. I stamped the flower, cut out the flower with Nellie Snellesn multi frame die square, and then figured I could also use the same die to cut out a strip – that way I could use the whole image. To make the strip I put the die+cardstock only a little bit into the cuttlebug, untill I thought it had cut the first 1 1/2 lines (where a line is the height of a circle.). Then I repositioned the paper (turned it 180 degrees) and put it through again untill I thought it had cut enough. I had to be carefull not to go to far, or I’d have cut the lower line of circles off (at least the ones on the corner would be broken).

The rosette was made with a Tim Holtz Sizzix Mini Rosette die, stamped with Moonlight Dew (can’t rememember the stampname but you can’t see the image, I think it was a stamp from Christina Renee for the pattern). The little flowers are the inner frames of the Nellie Snellen dotted hexagon die. Then I took 5 bright transparent yellow rocailles, put them on a decorative thread (I know, you can’t see, still, it’s the idea.)(You never know when someone takes a real close look at your card!) and glued them in place.

The green strip was also made for the day 11  CPS challenge. I thought it would fit in nicely here, not too much of a distraction from the flower, just a subtile layer of grass. I stamped “congratulations” (in Dutch ofcourse) on it and even used embossing powder for the first time. It was clear embossing powder, I used a hair dryer, and it didn’t work. First, with a hairdryer you blow off all embossing powder. Second, a hair dryer doesn’t get hot enough. After some googling I used this tip: Heat it above a ceramic cooking plate, a toaster or paint strip-gun if you don’t have a heat tool. We do have all three of those but ofcourse with the paintstripper you also blow of powder I think? I used our cooking plate, (for some images not used here) worked great. Lesson learned!

The Scan

One thought on “Flowers in the field

  1. Pingback: CPS Grand Challenge – cards, leftovers and workspace « DaqaDoodles

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

