Home » Cards » You light up my life

You light up my life

Based on CPS sketch #5, this is a card for a man. It could be a birthdaycard, or a thank-you card for making me something (My dad likes to build stuff for us).

CPS #5

It was fun to make this card. I did rotate the sketch 90 degrees clockwise though. I used the Steampunk Cuttlebog embossing folder, a rubber stamp with diamonds pattern, Kaisercraft decorative lamp stamp, Marianne Design Creatables LR0198, and various stamps from Christina Renee. I used an assortment of Distress ink, dew drop Galaxy Gold on the card and lights and a few highlights on the embossed gears, Dew Drop Moonlight white on the edges of the lamppost (+ other colors inks), Perfect Pearls mist copper for the main/background card and the little card with diamond print on it. Also on the lantern at the top I used some Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist Moonlight but it’s hardly visible. Oh and the car is made out of a wallpaper sample piece. I stamped the left lantern several times, cut it out and embossed it a bit by hand.

With this card I would like to take part in the following challenges:

Oh I’m too late for the other one, ah well, can’t join them all😉.

I usually make my daylight pictures on the front window-ledge. The sun doesn’t shine on that side but it’s light enough for most pictures. This is also where Charlie usually is lying. Well not actually ON the window ledge (only in summer), he lies below it on the heater because it’s so nice and warm… He’s about 20years old, very skinny (it’s actually a walking dead cat). He has always been skinny, which is probably due to him having a bad functioning thyroid (schildklier), and he has also bad functioning kidneys so he gets 2 pills with his food daily. Still he doesn’t eat lots (he looooves cake though – don’t ever leave cakewrappers lying around in our house or the cat will eat it). So he loves cheese, pate, CAKE, attention and warmth. Preferably he wants the food, attention and warmth all together. Usually it’s one or two at the same time. In cases where he doesn’t want food or gets attention from the right persons (he doesn’t want attention from our boy, he runs off then), he is lying somewhat like this:

We used to have a hanging basket but he preferred to be on top of the heater. As he can’t sit directly on the heather ofcourse I put down that boardthing (it’s from an IKEA shoerack). Actually I had done that first at another heater as my desk was next to it and things kept falling off/ in between the heater, so I put this down and some paper on top (only on a small part of the heater). Charlie loved to sit there. I added the towel here to soften it a bit more, and to prevent him from cooking. I’m not so sure he would get up😛 The stone in the back is enough to keep the rack lying on the heater – Charlie weighs around 3 kg and steps on it very carefully. The bowl of water I added only yesterday but not for him, though he likes to think so. It’s been very cold here and the air very dry, also inside. I don’t have these hangers or an humidifyer thingy, I do it the old fashioned way by placing bowls of water around the house.

Now before I forget, here is the scan of the card of the front and back:

I like the back as well. I got this little spray bottle from IKEA (yeah, we’ve been there regularly). For the finer spray you have to press the spray button completely down, but a lot of water comes out. I like the bigger spray as you see on the card, those are the drops if you spray slow and don’t press the button completely. Then I dabbed the card, and voila, this lovely pattern emerged🙂

2 thoughts on “You light up my life

  1. I love all the texture and subtle variations of color that you used! Yes, indeed, a lovely pattern! Thanks for playing my CPS Anniversary Challenge!

  2. Pingback: CPS Grand Challenge – cards, leftovers and workspace « DaqaDoodles

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

