Home » Cards » Sea Queen – Dream and Imagine

Sea Queen – Dream and Imagine

I started making this card for a monochrome challenge, but halfway I stopped, as I was stuck.

This week I finished it, finally.

Here she is, my sea queen & muse in the light of the setting sun.

I would like to participate in the following challenges with her:

This picture was taken from behind glass – the light was fading so I taped it carefully onto white paper and taped that to the door of my balcony, then went outside to make a picture.

The embosed flowers on the big card are made with an embossing folder I made myself. Very slighly you can still see the first layer of embossing on the back card, that was done with a silicone stencil for schmink. (Is that the right english word? You know, the makeup for kids at parties, to make them look like tigers and puppies). That required some testing to prevent creases as it is only a small stencil, and carefull peeling to get it off the embossing plates.

The embossing of the middle card is made with an embossingstencil which is not meant for embossingmachines, but I did use it anyway (was a loooot of testing before I had the right stack.)

Oh and again, I put ink on the emobssingstencil before embossing. (I always mention this after I mentioned the embossing for some reason!). After the embossing I highlighted some parts with my Dew Drop Moonlight white. (I love that one!) (It’s also the only one I got…)

Very slighly you can still see the first layer of embossing on the back card, that was done with a silicone stencil for schmink. (Is that the right english word? You know, the makeup for kids at parties, to make them look like tigers and puppies).

The paper of the letters was first stamped by me with various images, then use the Tim Holtz Vintage market die. I also used the mini rosette die for the flower rosettes.

The lady itself is a stamp from Marij Rahder, series Jugendstill. I originally stamped it to use with another card, and the colour combo was purple there, so I stamped it on a purple card. I didn’t like it. So I coloured it thoroughly with my derwents.

Now the unfocused scan for the colours, I’ll keep it small so you don’t see the blurryness so much.

5 thoughts on “Sea Queen – Dream and Imagine

  1. Beautiful embossing and I love the rosettes! Thank you for joining my flower challenge at The Paper Players!

  2. Hi
    I am sorry I have only managed to visit you now. I have clicked Follow so I should be following you🙂
    A gorgeous piece of work, the colours and the image.
    How wonderful you purchased scans from Trishia at French Kissed Postcards. Aren’t they gorgeous? I hope you are collecting the free, daily images. You will definitely have fun. I was her Artist in Residence in February 2011 and it was incredible working with her images (see my cloud category on my sidebar – French Kissed Postcards). Have fun and you must blog the artwork you create.
    It is so lovely making contact with someone new and thank you for taking the time to visit my Blog, Adorn, I appreciate it so much.
    Wishes
    Lynne

  3. Fablous. I love the fact that you took a monochromatic route with these gorgeous blues. Beautiful card. So glad you shared it with the Paper Players
    Jaydee

  4. Wow! I just love all of the beautiful blue and those pretty flowers you used. Such a lovely compliment to your stamped image. Thanks so much for joining us this week at the Paper Players!🙂

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

