Home » Cards » Oriental cabinet

Oriental cabinet

I hope my family doesn’t read my blog. If they do, I can’t send them the cards I’ve shown here, it would spoil the surprise! The kids probably won’t look, so for them it’s safe. But the adults… and I’m too impatient usually to wait with posting my cards untill after I sent them. Maybe if I make lots more then they won’t remember they saw the card…

Anyway, I really really like this card I made. I managed to keep it quite simple. It is based on a sketch from CardpositioningSystems, and when I saw it I immediately thought of a chinese cabinet, and allready envisioned how it should open and close and which colours and images… enough talking, here’s the sketch:

And here is the card, I turned the sketch, hope that is ok:

Here is the card in it’s opened form:

If you look closely you can see the slit in front of the flying bird. This goes around the rightflap of the card to keep it closed. This half round slit also returns in the center where the little note is held.

I also love that the cherry blossom embossing is so clearly visible on the inside. I placed the embossing folder inside the card, then closed the card and tucked the flaps of the card in the folder, then I embossed it. Before I did so however I had put some Tsukineko DewDrop moonligh white on the folder.

The distressing of the card is more subtle in reality. The contour stamps are stamped first in moonlight white and then in pink on top of it. (Or was it the other way around?) Then I traced a few lines and added some detail with a white gel pen.

I am very pleased with the card, did I mention that allready? It looks a bit like an invitation for something, or maybe to put a menu in when you have a special dinner. And now I made it once, it’s easier to make it again and it will be better! Ofcourse there will be slight variations, such as different birds or flowers. (Although I only have 1 stamp of a flying bird, which is the little one you see. I like flying birds as it symbolizes freedom and activity, it gives some flow to a card. I don’t like birds in cages, just don’t think animals should be put in cages. Not even on cardsūüėČ. If I would ever do make a card with a bird in a cage, probably somewhere on the card is also an image of a flying bird – that would be, in my mind, the same bird having been set free.

And now for the long list of challenges I’d like to enter with this card.

12 thoughts on “Oriental cabinet

  1. Oh my word, this is such a beautiful creation , lovely design and great use of the challenge colours

    Thank you so much for joining us at Crafty Catz Pink and White Challenge I hope you can join us again next week

    Have a lovely day,
    Good Luck with the challenge,
    Hugs Bridget Crafty Catz DT :-)x

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

