Home » Algemeen / other » Challenge card: Autumn leaves

Challenge card: Autumn leaves

Edited on 28-1: I scanned the card, there’s a much better image of it at the bottom of the post!

This card was made for a challenge, and it’s the first time I participate in a challenge.

I’d like to participate for the following challenges:

Simon Says Stamp and Show Song Title -Autumn leaves (Les Feuilles Mortes) – I miss you most of all, my darling, when autumn leaves, start to fall.

Let’s ink it up – Challenge #19 – anything goes – this is anything, right?

Paper Sundaes challenge blog – Challenge #104 – Paper piecing – edit: I don’t think I used this technique here, creating a window and silhouette isn’t the same I think? As I understamd it, it’s creating an image (say an animal) out of other pieces of (patterned) paper, where a patterned piece on itself is not an element (so not 10 different kinds of bears but 1 bear with different paper for his shirt). Ah well, I learned another thing🙂

Papertake Weekly ChallengeHappy Highlights  Hmm my highlights aren’t very happy but there are highlights🙂

So that’s the link on my blog, now to see how that linky thingy works.

Here is the song the card is inspired on:

Listening to that song brings me close to tears. So on to happier stuff!

But first, some more pictures, all not very good as they were made late in the evening.

Here you can see the highlights better🙂

About the background: it’s plain cardstock, stamped with stamps from Christina Renee.

The little maple leaves are punched out of a cardstock sheet which I painted first with Alleene’s paint, colours Copper and White Gold (mixed).

This is figuring out which text goes where and which lettertype. In the background you see two trial windows, a trial cardstock for the “interior”, and some sketches for the card.

About the window: it was drawn with a ruler but cut without one, I didn’t want too straigh lines. I stamped the square parts different the nthe top and bottom horizontal bars. Also the stamping on the curve is different.

The glass in lead decoration like thingy is made with a die for the cuttlebug, and then stamped with a stamp and different colours.

The background was made by first stamping an image on the background (The long stamp from Christina Renee again) and then running it through the cuttlebug with a Tim Holtz clocks folder, which was inked up with different colours.

Here are many of my used materials. I know, my stamps are dirty! I’m getting cleaning solution soon!

I am terrible at drawing people, so I edited a picture of me to get a silhouette. Here some in between steps:

I then changed the position of the head, made a knot in the back and printed it out for reference. The first silhouette (see materials picture) was made by tracing the image of my head and adding a body to it, then make it smaller, tracing inner lines with an embossing tool, and finally colouring it in with a whiteboardmarker (that was the easiest). It was still too big stil, so retraced it again onto brown cardstock and cut it out even smaller. I stamped various parts of the silhouette with different stamps

You can see here the lines of the embossing pen and even some different stamps I used. I bet you didn’t guess I used a Rabbit for her hair!

Hopefully the card is not too bad! I kind of like it though it doesn’t look as most of the cards I see out on the internet. Is that good or bad?

Comments are welcome!

6 thoughts on “Challenge card: Autumn leaves

  1. Great card Debbie; I love the original and unusual design and the leaf highlights look gorgeous. Thanks for playing along with us at Papertake Weekly this week and good luck!
    xx

  2. Hi Debbie – love that “looking through the window” look of your project – and a lovely sentiment! Thanks for joining in with the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge! and Congrats on joining in for the first time – hope to see you again! Ellen🙂

  3. “it doesn’t look as most of the cards I see out on the internet.”=== perfect! your own lovely style and not one of the myriad copycats:) ok…rabbit for the hair? something lost in translation or i read too fast.hehe

It is always a little gift when someone took the time to comment, feedback is much appreciated. / Het is een klein cadeautje wanneer iemand een reactie achterlaat, feedback wordt gewaardeerd!

